翻译:
西班牙信息
A+ A A-

致力于家庭参与课程

我们的信念

Walla Walla 公立学校相信父母是孩子教育的重要合作伙伴,我们重视他们的意见和观点。 重要的研究机构[1] 指出这一承诺的好处。 更多的父母参与提供了包括并超越学术的优势,包括社会联系和情感健康。 当前的 WWPS 战略计划以同样的承诺为基准,指出“家庭和社区的重要性”在学生的学习中。

我们如何选择课程和其他教学材料

核心课程

我们学校一般有两种教材。 第一个被认为是我们的“核心课程”。 这些教学材料用于帮助学生达到州和学术学习标准,可能包括教科书、基于技术的材料和其他教育媒体。

在采用核心教材时,学区经过严格的、 13 步,长达一年的过程 评估、试点测试和输入收集。 一个包括员工、管理人员、家长和学校董事会代表的委员会审查所有可能的材料,并向整个董事会提出建议以供采纳。 在采用之前,学区采取了很大的措施,将材料提供给社区审查和评论,并通过多个交流平台宣传这些机会。

在 2017 年战略计划之前,WWPS 在获取最新材料方面已经落后。 结果,董事会资助了一个 积极的五年采用周期 确保所有年级的所有学生都能获得符合当前州和国家标准的更新课程。

补充教学材料

当然,教师不仅仅使用核心教科书作为他们唯一的教学资源。 他们使用新闻文章、补充文本、视频剪辑、时事和其他外部资源来增加深度、丰富性和相关性,以支持他们在其内容领域内解决的标准。

这些材料的使用和选择受 WWPS 董事会政策 #2020 – 教材的课程设计、选择和采用,相关程序中提供了更多详细信息:

该政策和五个相关程序共同提供了有关如何批准使用材料、在什么年龄以及需要何种形式的父母通知和许可的指导方针。 

如何为学校图书馆的可用性选择材料

图书馆资料的采用受 WWPS 董事会政策 #2021 – 图书馆信息和技术计划伴随程序. 图书馆资料的选择基于五个关键优先事项,与美国图书馆协会和美国学校图书馆协会保持一致。 他们包括:

 父图书馆访问提示

 

  • 任何人都可以通过我们的公共在线界面访问我们的学校图书馆馆藏: https://destiny.wwps.org/
  • 家长可以通过联系学校的图书馆员请求访问以监控学生的图书馆帐户。 此外,家庭可以要求取消其学生的图书馆借阅权限。
  • 任何希望亲自查看图书馆资料的家长都可以通过建筑负责人协调参观。
  • 希望对收藏中包含的特定材料表示担忧的家长可以按照 程序 2021P.
  • 为学生和教师提供资源材料,用于课程和个人探究;
  • 提供符合学生兴趣、词汇、成熟度和能力水平的材料;
  • 提供多样化的材料,以实现来源和观点的平衡;
  • 通过接触印刷和数字材料,将阅读作为一项终身活动来培养; 和,
  • 包括因学术、文学和/或艺术价值和优点而被收藏的材料。

除了与学生和教师的日常互动外,每所学校的图书馆员还利用他们的专业知识来管理馆藏。 在购买新的图书馆书籍之前,学校图书馆员会咨询 Common Sense Media 基于研究的独立评级系统 确保图书馆书籍开始年龄/年级水平推荐不超过图书馆服务的年龄/年级跨度(例如小学 12 岁及以上,中学 15 岁及以上,高中 18 岁及以上/成人)。 如果 Common Sense Media 未审查特定资源,图书馆员将寻求另一个国家认可的审查服务。

依据 程序 2020P,在学校图书馆保存的用于支持在高中教授的大学水平课程的图书馆书籍,例如 Running Start、College in the High School 和 AP/Honors 课程,由于其先进的 Lexile 阅读水平,可免除此程序.    

Walla Walla 公立学校很自豪能够在各个级别保持熟练的图书馆员,并在每个校园内收藏大量书籍。 最近,我们很高兴我们努力扩大我们的收藏,为来自多语言家庭的学生提供英语以外的多种声音和语言。 我们坚信每个父母都应该能够给孩子读书!

国家规定的性健康教育课程

法律和课程概述

2020 年,华盛顿立法机构批准了 SB 5395,要求所有学区“提供医学和科学上准确、有证据、适合年龄并符合州健康和学习标准的全面性教育指导。” 该法案规定了教学标准、教学水平和教学频率。 点击这里 按年级跨度审查该州的学习标准。

与州要求一致,性/健康教育在 5th WWPS 的年级水平,从介绍性的、适合年龄的主题开始。 5岁之前不教授性教育th 年级。 校务委员会选择的材料(权利、尊重和责任)在 2018 年经过深入审查和审查,包括家长、学区教师、社区学校健康咨询委员会和学区教学材料委员会在内的数十名利益相关者积极参与了选择过程。 

在上课之前,学区会提前 30 天通知家长,让他们有机会提前预览材料。 所有学区的性教育课程和课程继续以英语和西班牙语在学区网站上供家长查看 此处. 复习课程后,家长可以选择让孩子退出教学。

常见问题与解答

我怎样才能知道我的孩子在课堂上读了什么书?
学区鼓励家长参与并了解他们的孩子正在学习什么。 根据教学的年级水平,教师制定课程计划和/或教学大纲,以确定要提前阅读的指定书籍。 根据学习课程的不同,这些通常在学校开始时提供给学生和家庭,但可以通过联系孩子的老师随时访问。   

此外,Walla Walla 公立学校制定了多项保障措施,以确保学生在课堂上阅读适合年龄的书籍。 一、该区已确定 常识媒体 作为一个独立的第三方工具,帮助了解小说的年龄级别是否合适。 如果常识年龄等级等于或低于建议的班级水平(详情见程序),无需家长或管理员许可即可使用该图书。

如果常识年龄等级比典型班级年龄水平高出一到两年,教师首先要获得校长使用小说的许可。 如果校长同意,然后使用通知家长 表格 2020:家长许可表格. 任何家长选择不让他们阅读这本书的学生都将获得同等参与的替代作业。

高中的大学水平课程,由于其先进的 Lexile 阅读水平,可免除此程序。 此类课程的教师将在每年年初或学期初向学生和家庭提供教学大纲,以作为课程计划的一部分阅读小说。 如果家庭要求,将提供替代资源。

我怎样才能知道我的孩子在课堂上看到了什么视频?
视频的保护措施与书籍的保护措施相同,详细信息在 单独的程序. 该学区将电影协会 (MPAA) 和电视收视率作为一般准则,并且只要收视率准则接近班级学生的年龄,就需要家长许可。 教师为家长选择退出的学生提供相同价值的替代观看作业。

我怎么知道学校图书馆里有哪些书?
多年来,我们的学校图书馆馆藏一直通过我们的公共在线界面提供: https://destiny.wwps.org/ 在那里,家长可以按标题、关键字、作者、主题或系列搜索每个图书馆藏书。 此外,任何希望亲自查看我们图书馆的家长都可以免费通过大楼负责人安排参观。

我认为学校图书馆的书不适合 my 同学,我该怎么办?
这是一个简单而直接的过程。 家长可以通过联系学校的图书馆员请求访问以监控学生的图书馆帐户。 此外,家庭还可以请求删除其学生的图书馆借阅权限。

我认为学校图书馆的书不适合 所有 同学们,我该怎么办?
希望表达对图书馆中特定馆藏的关注的公民可以根据第 程序 2021P. 这可能包括由学校工作人员、家长和其他代表组成的图书馆资料审查委员会进行正式审查,他们将对图书进行审查,以确保其符合图书馆流通标准。

我听说过一些关于全国一些学校正在教授的性教育教学类型的耸人听闻的故事。 这是发生在瓦拉瓦拉吗?
虽然 Walla Walla 无法与其他学区的课程和材料交谈,但 Walla Walla 公立学校的教学内容经过家长和工作人员的仔细审查,以确保适合年龄的教学,并直接符合州要求。 不向 5 岁以下的学生教授性教育th 年级。 在 5th 年级水平,针对基本人类成长和发展(例如青春期)等主题提供适合年龄的指导。 要访问所有教授的课程,5th-12th 年级,鼓励家长参观 官网 或联系教与学部。 

如果我有本资料单未涵盖的其他问题怎么办?
如果父母有疑虑,我们希望听取他们的意见。 最好的第一步是开始与老师、图书管理员或校长交谈。 但是,请随时致电 509-527-3000 联系地区办公室。

 

[1] https://psycnet.apa.org/manuscript/2019-38879-001.pdf

瓦拉瓦拉公立学校 • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • 电话: 509-527-3000 • 传真: 509.529.7713

矢量解决方案 - 矢量警报 安全学校提示行: 855.976.8772  |  在线提示报告系统

A+ A A-

Commitment to Family Involvement in Curriculum

What We Believe

Walla Walla Public Schools believes parents are critical partners in their children’s education and we value their input and perspectives. A significant body of research[1] points to the benefits of this commitment. Greater parental involvement provides advantages that include and extend beyond academics, to both social connection and emotional well-being. The current WWPS strategic plan benchmarks that same commitment, pointing to “the importance of family and community” in students’ schooling.

How We Select Curriculum and Other Instructional Materials

Core Curriculum

There are generally two types of material sets in our schools. The first is considered our “core curriculum.” These instructional materials are used to help students meet state and academic learning standards and may include textbooks, technology-based materials, and other educational media.

When adopting core instructional materials, the district goes through a rigorous, 13-step, year-long process of evaluation, pilot testing, and input-gathering. A committee that includes staff, administrators, parents and school board representation reviews all potential materials and makes a recommendation to the entire board for adoption. Prior to adoption, the district takes great measures in making the materials available for community review and comment, advertising these opportunities through multiple communication platforms.

Prior to the 2017 strategic plan, WWPS had fallen behind in acquiring up-to-date materials. As a result, the board funded an aggressive, five-year adoption cycle to ensure all students at all grade levels had access to updated curriculum aligned with current state and national standards.

Supplemental Instructional Materials

Of course, teachers don’t just use core textbooks as their sole instructional resource. They use news articles, supplementary texts, video clips, current events and other outside sources to add depth, richness and relevancy to support standards they are addressing within their content area.

The use and selection of these materials is governed by WWPS Board Policy #2020 – Course Design, Selection and Adoption of Instructional Materials, with more detail provided in the associated procedures:

Together, this policy and the five associated procedures provide the guidelines for how materials may be approved for use, at what ages, and with what forms of parental notification and permission is required. 

How Materials Are Selected for Availability in School Libraries

The adoption of library materials is governed by WWPS Board Policy #2021 – Library Information and Technology Programs and the accompanying procedure. Selection of library materials is based on five key priorities, aligned with the American Library Association and the American Association of School Libraries. They include:

 Parent Library Access Tips

 

  • Anyone has access to our school library collection through our public online interface: https://destiny.wwps.org/
  • Parents may request access to monitor their student’s library account by contacting their school’s librarian. In addition, families may request to remove their student’s library checkout privileges.
  • Any parent who wishes to review library materials in person may coordinate a visit through the building principal.
  • Parents who wish to express a concern about a specific material included in the collection may do so according to the process outlined in Procedure 2021P.
  • Providing resource materials, for both curricular and individual inquiry, for students and faculty;
  • Providing materials that meet the interest, vocabulary, maturity and ability levels of students;
  • Providing a diversity of materials in the interest of achieving a balance of sources and perspectives;
  • Fostering reading as a lifelong activity through exposure to printed and digital materials; and,
  • Including materials in the collection because of their academic, literary and/or artistic value and merit.

Librarians in each school curate collections utilizing their expertise, in addition to daily interactions with students and faculty. Before acquiring new library books, school librarians consult with Common Sense Media’s research-based, independent rating system to ensure library books beginning age/grade level recommendation does not exceed the age/grade span the library serves (e.g. 12 and up for elementary school, 15 and up for middle school, 18 and up/adult for high school). If the specific resource has not been reviewed by Common Sense Media, librarians will seek another nationally-recognized review service.

In accordance with Procedure 2020P, library books maintained in the school library to support college-level classes taught at the high school such as Running Start, College in the High School and AP/Honors programs, as a result of their advanced Lexile reading levels, are exempt from this procedure.    

Walla Walla Public Schools is proud to maintain skilled librarians at every level and houses a vast selection of books across each school campus. More recently, we are pleased with our efforts to grow our collection, featuring diverse voices and languages other than English for our students who come from multilingual families. We firmly believe every parent should be able to read to their kids!

State-required Sexual Health Education Curriculum

Overview of the Law and Curriculum

In 2020, the Washington legislature approved SB 5395, requiring all school districts to, “provide comprehensive sexual education instruction that is medically and scientifically accurate, evidence-informed, age-appropriate and aligned with the state’s health and learning standards.” The bill specifies standards to be taught, at what grade level, and the frequency of the instruction. Click here to review the state's learning standards by grade span.

Aligned with state requirements, sexual/health education is introduced at the 5th grade level in WWPS, beginning with introductory, age appropriate topics. Sexual education is not taught prior to 5th grade. The materials the School Board selected (Rights, Respect and Responsibility) were deeply vetted and reviewed in 2018, where dozens of stakeholders including parent, district faculty, the Community School Health Advisory Committee and the district's Instructional Materials Committee actively participated in the selection process. 

Prior to lessons being taught, the district provides notice to parents 30 days in advance, allowing them the opportunity to preview the materials ahead of time. All of the district’s sexual education curriculum and lessons continue to be available for parent review, in both English and Spanish, on the district’s website here.  After reviewing the lessons, parents may choose to opt their child out of instruction.

Common Questions & Answers

How can I find out what books my children are reading in class?
The district encourages parents to be involved and aware of what their children are learning. Depending on the grade level of instruction, teachers establish curricular plans and/or syllabi that identifies assigned books to be read ahead of time. Depending on the course of study, these are typically provided to students and families at the beginning of the school but may be accessed at any time by contacting the child’s teacher.   

In addition, Walla Walla Public Schools has multiple safeguards in place to ensure students are reading age-appropriate books in class. First, the district has identified Common Sense Media as an independent, third-party tool to help inform age-level appropriateness for novels. If the Common Sense age rating is at or below the proposed class level (see procedure for details), the book may be used without requiring parent or administrator permission.

If the Common Sense age rating is within one or two years above the typical class age level, teachers first secure principal permission to utilize the novel. If the principal agrees, parents are then notified using Form 2020: Parent Permission Form.  Any student whose parent chooses not to allow them to read the book will be provided an alternative assignment with equivalent participation.

College-level classes at the high school, as a result of their advanced Lexile reading levels, are exempt from this procedure. Teachers of such classes will make available a syllabus to students and families at the beginning of every year or term outlining novels to be read as part of the curricular program. If requested by families, an alternate resource will be made available.

How can I find out what videos my children are seeing in class?
The safeguards for videos mirror those for books, with details spelled out in a separate procedure.  The district relies on Motion Picture Association (MPAA) and TV ratings as a general guideline and requires parent permission whenever the rating guideline nears the age of students served in the class.  Teachers provide an alternate viewing assignment of the same value for students whose parent chooses to opt them out.

How do I know which books are in the school libraries?
For many years our school library collections have been made available through our public online interface: https://destiny.wwps.org/ There, parents can search each library collection by title, keyword, author, subject or series. Additionally, any parent who wishes to review our libraries in person is free to schedule a visit through the building principal.

I think a book in the school library is inappropriate for my student, what can I do?
It is an easy and straightforward process.  Parents may request access to monitor their student’s library account by contacting their school’s librarian. Additionally, families may also request to remove their student’s library checkout permissions.

I think a book in the school library is inappropriate for all students, what can I do?
Citizens who wish to express a concern about a specific collection included in the library may do so according to the procedures outlined in Procedure 2021P. This may include a formal review by the Library Materials Review Committee, consisting of school staff, parents and other representatives, who will review the book to ensure it meets library circulation criteria.

I have heard sensational stories on the types of sexual education instruction that is being taught in some schools across the nation. Is that happening in Walla Walla?
While Walla Walla cannot speak to other districts’ curriculum and materials, what is being taught in Walla Walla Public Schools was carefully vetted by parents and staff to ensure age-appropriate instruction, and aligns directly with state requirements. No sexual education is taught to students below 5th grade. At the 5th grade level, age-appropriate instruction is provided on topics like basic human growth and development (e.g. puberty). To access all lessons taught, 5th-12th grade, parents are encouraged to visit the website or contact the Teaching and Learning Department. 

What if I have additional questions not covered by this fact sheet?
If parents have concerns, we want to hear from them. The best first step is to begin the conversation with the teacher, librarian or building principal. However, please feel free to contact the district office at 509-527-3000.

 

[1] https://psycnet.apa.org/manuscript/2019-38879-001.pdf

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772  |  Online Tip Reporting System