A+ A A-

الالتزام بمشاركة الأسرة في المناهج الدراسية

ما نؤمن به

تؤمن مدارس والا والا العامة بأن أولياء الأمور شركاء مهمون في تعليم أطفالهم ونحن نقدر مساهماتهم ووجهات نظرهم. مجموعة كبيرة من البحوث[1] يشير إلى فوائد هذا الالتزام. توفر المشاركة الأبوية الأكبر مزايا تشمل الأكاديميين وتمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك ، إلى كل من التواصل الاجتماعي والرفاهية العاطفية. تشير الخطة الإستراتيجية الحالية لـ WWPS إلى نفس الالتزام ، مشيرة إلى "أهمية الأسرة والمجتمع"في تعليم الطلاب.

كيف نختار المناهج والمواد التعليمية الأخرى

المنهج الأساسي

يوجد بشكل عام نوعان من مجموعات المواد في مدارسنا. الأول يعتبر "منهجنا الأساسي". تُستخدم هذه المواد التعليمية لمساعدة الطلاب على تلبية معايير التعليم الحكومية والأكاديمية وقد تشمل الكتب المدرسية والمواد القائمة على التكنولوجيا والوسائط التعليمية الأخرى.

عند اعتماد المواد التعليمية الأساسية ، تمر المنطقة بإجراءات صارمة ، 13 خطوة ، عملية طويلة التقييم والاختبار التجريبي وجمع المدخلات. تقوم اللجنة التي تضم الموظفين والإداريين وأولياء الأمور وممثلي مجلس المدرسة بمراجعة جميع المواد المحتملة وتقديم توصية إلى المجلس بأكمله لاعتمادها. قبل التبني ، تتخذ المنطقة تدابير كبيرة في إتاحة المواد لمراجعة المجتمع والتعليق عليه ، والإعلان عن هذه الفرص من خلال منصات اتصال متعددة.

قبل الخطة الإستراتيجية لعام 2017 ، تخلفت WWPS في الحصول على مواد حديثة. نتيجة لذلك ، قام المجلس بتمويل دورة اعتماد صارمة مدتها خمس سنوات للتأكد من أن جميع الطلاب في جميع مستويات الصفوف لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى المناهج الدراسية المحدثة المتوافقة مع المعايير الحالية والوطنية.

المواد التعليمية التكميلية

بالطبع ، لا يستخدم المعلمون الكتب المدرسية الأساسية فقط كمصدر تعليمي وحيد لهم. يستخدمون المقالات الإخبارية والنصوص التكميلية ومقاطع الفيديو والأحداث الجارية وغيرها من المصادر الخارجية لإضافة العمق والثراء والملاءمة لدعم المعايير التي يتناولونها في مجال المحتوى الخاص بهم.

يخضع استخدام واختيار هذه المواد سياسة مجلس WWPS # 2020 - تصميم الدورة واختيار المواد التعليمية واعتمادها، مع مزيد من التفاصيل الواردة في الإجراءات ذات الصلة:

توفر هذه السياسة والإجراءات الخمسة المرتبطة بها معًا إرشادات حول كيفية الموافقة على المواد للاستخدام ، وفي أي أعمار ، وأشكال إخطار الوالدين والإذن المطلوب. 

كيف يتم اختيار المواد لتوفرها في المكتبات المدرسية

اعتماد مواد المكتبة تحكمه سياسة مجلس WWPS # 2021 - برامج تكنولوجيا ومعلومات المكتبات و الإجراء المصاحب. يعتمد اختيار مواد المكتبة على خمس أولويات رئيسية ، تتماشى مع جمعية المكتبات الأمريكية والرابطة الأمريكية للمكتبات المدرسية. يشملوا:

 تلميحات الوصول إلى مكتبة الوالدين

 

  • يمكن لأي شخص الوصول إلى مجموعة مكتبة مدرستنا من خلال واجهتنا العامة عبر الإنترنت: https://destiny.wwps.org/
  • قد يطلب أولياء الأمور الوصول لمراقبة حساب مكتبة طلابهم عن طريق الاتصال بأمين مكتبة مدرستهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد تطلب العائلات إزالة امتيازات الخروج من مكتبة الطلاب.
  • يمكن لأي ولي أمر يرغب في مراجعة مواد المكتبة شخصيًا تنسيق الزيارة من خلال مدير المبنى.
  • الآباء الذين يرغبون في التعبير عن قلقهم بشأن مادة معينة مدرجة في المجموعة يمكنهم القيام بذلك وفقًا للعملية الموضحة في الإجراء 2021P.
  • توفير المواد المرجعية ، لكل من الاستفسارات المنهجية والفردية ، للطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس ؛
  • توفير المواد التي تلبي مستويات الاهتمام والمفردات والنضج والقدرة لدى الطلاب ؛
  • توفير مجموعة متنوعة من المواد من أجل تحقيق توازن في المصادر ووجهات النظر ؛
  • تعزيز القراءة كنشاط مدى الحياة من خلال التعرض للمواد المطبوعة والرقمية ؛ و،
  • تضمين المواد في المجموعة بسبب قيمتها الأكاديمية والأدبية و / أو الفنية والجدارة.

يقوم أمناء المكتبات في كل مدرسة برعاية المجموعات باستخدام خبراتهم ، بالإضافة إلى التفاعلات اليومية مع الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس. قبل الحصول على كتب مكتبة جديدة ، يتشاور أمناء المكتبات المدرسية مع نظام تصنيف مستقل قائم على الأبحاث لشركة Common Sense Media للتأكد من أن كتب المكتبة في بداية العمر / مستوى الصف الدراسي لا تتجاوز العمر / الصف الدراسي الذي تخدمه المكتبة (على سبيل المثال 12 وما فوق للمدرسة الابتدائية ، و 15 وما فوق للمدرسة المتوسطة ، و 18 وما فوق / للبالغين للمدرسة الثانوية). إذا لم تتم مراجعة المورد المحدد بواسطة Common Sense Media ، فسوف يسعى المكتبيون للحصول على خدمة مراجعة أخرى معترف بها على المستوى الوطني.

وفقا لل الإجراء 2020P، كتب المكتبة المحفوظة في مكتبة المدرسة لدعم الفصول الدراسية على مستوى الكلية التي يتم تدريسها في المدرسة الثانوية مثل بدء التشغيل ، والكلية في المدرسة الثانوية وبرامج AP / Honors ، نتيجة لمستويات القراءة المتقدمة في Lexile ، يتم إعفاؤها من هذا الإجراء .    

تفخر مدارس والا والا العامة بالحفاظ على أمناء مكتبات ماهرين على كل المستويات وتضم مجموعة كبيرة من الكتب في كل حرم مدرسي. في الآونة الأخيرة ، نحن سعداء بجهودنا لتنمية مجموعتنا ، التي تتميز بأصوات ولغات متنوعة بخلاف الإنجليزية لطلابنا الذين ينتمون إلى أسر متعددة اللغات. نعتقد اعتقادًا راسخًا أن كل والد يجب أن يكون قادرًا على القراءة لأطفالهم!

منهج تعليم الصحة الجنسية المطلوب من الدولة

نظرة عامة على القانون والمناهج

في عام 2020 ، وافق المجلس التشريعي لواشنطن على SB 5395 ، والذي يتطلب من جميع المناطق التعليمية أن "توفر تعليمًا جنسيًا شاملاً دقيقًا طبيًا وعلميًا ، ومستنيرًا بالأدلة ، ومناسبًا للعمر ومتوافقًا مع معايير الصحة والتعلم في الولاية." يحدد القانون المعايير التي يجب تدريسها ، وفي أي مستوى صف ، وتكرار التدريس. اضغط هنا لمراجعة معايير التعلم للولاية حسب فترة الصف.

تمشيا مع متطلبات الدولة ، يتم تقديم التثقيف الجنسي / الصحي في 5th مستوى الصف الدراسي في WWPS ، بدءًا من الموضوعات التمهيدية المناسبة للعمر. لا يتم تدريس التربية الجنسية قبل سن الخامسةth المرتبة. تم فحص المواد التي اختارها مجلس المدرسة (الحقوق والاحترام والمسؤولية) ومراجعتها بعمق في عام 2018 ، حيث شارك العشرات من أصحاب المصلحة بما في ذلك الآباء وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في المنطقة واللجنة الاستشارية لصحة المدارس المجتمعية ولجنة المواد التعليمية بالمنطقة بنشاط في عملية الاختيار. 

قبل تدريس الدروس ، تقدم المنطقة إشعارًا للآباء قبل 30 يومًا ، مما يتيح لهم الفرصة لمعاينة المواد في وقت مبكر. تظل جميع مناهج ودروس التربية الجنسية بالمنطقة متاحة لمراجعة أولياء الأمور ، باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية ، على موقع المنطقة على الويب هنا. بعد مراجعة الدروس ، يمكن للوالدين اختيار عدم مشاركة طفلهم في التدريس.

أسئلة وأجوبة شائعة

كيف يمكنني معرفة الكتب التي يقرأها أطفالي في الفصل؟
تشجع المنطقة الآباء على المشاركة وإدراك ما يتعلمه أطفالهم. اعتمادًا على مستوى الصف الدراسي ، يقوم المعلمون بوضع خطط المناهج و / أو المناهج الدراسية التي تحدد الكتب المخصصة للقراءة في وقت مبكر. اعتمادًا على مسار الدراسة ، يتم توفيرها عادةً للطلاب والأسر في بداية المدرسة ولكن يمكن الوصول إليها في أي وقت عن طريق الاتصال بمعلم الطفل.   

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لدى مدارس والا والا العامة عدة إجراءات وقائية لضمان قراءة الطلاب للكتب المناسبة لأعمارهم في الفصل. أولا ، حددت المنطقة Common Sense Media كأداة مستقلة تابعة لجهة خارجية للمساعدة في الإبلاغ عن مدى ملاءمة الروايات على مستوى العمر. إذا كان التصنيف العمري للفطرة السليمة عند مستوى الفصل المقترح أو أقل منه (انظر الإجراء للحصول على التفاصيل) ، يمكن استخدام الكتاب دون طلب إذن ولي الأمر أو المسؤول.

إذا كان التصنيف العمري للحس المشترك في غضون عام أو عامين أعلى من المستوى العمري للفصل النموذجي ، يقوم المعلمون أولاً بتأمين الإذن الرئيسي لاستخدام الرواية. إذا وافق المدير ، يتم إخطار الوالدين باستخدام نموذج 2020: نموذج إذن ولي الأمر. أي طالب يختار والداه عدم السماح له بقراءة الكتاب ، سيُقدم له مهمة بديلة بمشاركة مكافئة.

تُعفى الفصول الدراسية على مستوى الكلية في المدرسة الثانوية ، نتيجة لمستويات القراءة المتقدمة في Lexile ، من هذا الإجراء. سيتيح مدرسو هذه الفصول الدراسية للطلاب والعائلات في بداية كل عام أو الفصل الدراسي الذي يحدد الروايات ليتم قراءتها كجزء من برنامج المناهج الدراسية. إذا طلبت العائلات ، سيتم توفير مورد بديل.

كيف يمكنني معرفة مقاطع الفيديو التي يشاهدها أطفالي في الفصل؟
تعكس الضمانات الخاصة بمقاطع الفيديو تلك الخاصة بالكتب ، مع توضيح التفاصيل إجراء منفصل. تعتمد المنطقة التعليمية على تصنيفات Motion Picture Association (MPAA) والتصنيفات التلفزيونية كمبدأ توجيهي عام وتتطلب إذن الوالدين عندما يقترب دليل التصنيف من عمر الطلاب الذين يتم خدمتهم في الفصل. يوفر المعلمون مهمة عرض بديلة بنفس القيمة للطلاب الذين يختار والدهم إلغاء اشتراكهم.

كيف أعرف الكتب الموجودة في مكتبات المدرسة؟
لسنوات عديدة ، تم توفير مجموعات مكتبة مدرستنا من خلال واجهتنا العامة على الإنترنت: https://destiny.wwps.org/ هناك ، يمكن للوالدين البحث في كل مجموعة مكتبة حسب العنوان أو الكلمة الرئيسية أو المؤلف أو الموضوع أو السلسلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن أي والد يرغب في مراجعة مكتباتنا شخصيًا له الحرية في تحديد موعد الزيارة من خلال مدير المبنى.

أعتقد أن كتابًا في مكتبة المدرسة غير مناسب my طالب ماذا افعل؟
إنها عملية سهلة ومباشرة. قد يطلب أولياء الأمور الوصول لمراقبة حساب مكتبة طلابهم عن طريق الاتصال بأمين مكتبة مدرستهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد تطلب العائلات أيضًا إزالة أذونات الخروج من مكتبة الطلاب.

أعتقد أن كتابًا في مكتبة المدرسة غير مناسب من جميع الطلاب ماذا أفعل؟
يمكن للمواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعبير عن قلقهم بشأن مجموعة معينة مدرجة في المكتبة القيام بذلك وفقًا للإجراءات الموضحة في الإجراء 2021P. قد يشمل ذلك مراجعة رسمية من قبل لجنة مراجعة مواد المكتبة ، التي تتكون من موظفي المدرسة وأولياء الأمور وممثلين آخرين ، والذين سيقومون بمراجعة الكتاب للتأكد من أنه يلبي معايير توزيع المكتبة.

لقد سمعت قصصًا مثيرة عن أنواع تعليم التربية الجنسية التي يتم تدريسها في بعض المدارس في جميع أنحاء البلاد. هل هذا يحدث في والا والا؟
بينما لا تستطيع والا والا التحدث إلى المناهج والمواد الخاصة بالمقاطعات الأخرى ، فإن ما يتم تدريسه في مدارس والا والا العامة تم فحصه بعناية من قبل الآباء والموظفين لضمان التعليم المناسب للعمر ، ويتوافق بشكل مباشر مع متطلبات الولاية. لا يتم تدريس التربية الجنسية للطلاب دون سن الخامسةth المرتبة. في 5th مستوى الصف الدراسي ، يتم توفير التعليم المناسب للعمر حول موضوعات مثل النمو البشري الأساسي وتطوره (مثل البلوغ). للوصول إلى جميع الدروس التي تم تدريسها ، 5th-12th الصف ، يتم تشجيع الآباء على زيارة موقع الكتروني أو اتصل بقسم التعليم والتعلم. 

ماذا لو كانت لدي أسئلة إضافية لا تغطيها صحيفة الحقائق هذه؟
إذا كان لدى الوالدين مخاوف ، فنحن نريد أن نسمع منهم. أفضل خطوة أولى هي بدء المحادثة مع المعلم أو أمين المكتبة أو مدير المبنى. ومع ذلك ، لا تتردد في الاتصال بمكتب المنطقة 509-527-3000.

 

[1] https://psycnet.apa.org/manuscript/2019-38879-001.pdf

مدارس ولاء العامة • 364 شارع ساوث بارك • والا والا 99362 • الهاتف: 509-527-3000 • الفاكس: 509.529.7713

Vector Solutions - Vector Alert خط نصيحة المدارس الآمنة: 855.976.8772  |  نظام الإبلاغ عن الإكرامية عبر الإنترنت

A+ A A-

Commitment to Family Involvement in Curriculum

What We Believe

Walla Walla Public Schools believes parents are critical partners in their children’s education and we value their input and perspectives. A significant body of research[1] points to the benefits of this commitment. Greater parental involvement provides advantages that include and extend beyond academics, to both social connection and emotional well-being. The current WWPS strategic plan benchmarks that same commitment, pointing to “the importance of family and community” in students’ schooling.

How We Select Curriculum and Other Instructional Materials

Core Curriculum

There are generally two types of material sets in our schools. The first is considered our “core curriculum.” These instructional materials are used to help students meet state and academic learning standards and may include textbooks, technology-based materials, and other educational media.

When adopting core instructional materials, the district goes through a rigorous, 13-step, year-long process of evaluation, pilot testing, and input-gathering. A committee that includes staff, administrators, parents and school board representation reviews all potential materials and makes a recommendation to the entire board for adoption. Prior to adoption, the district takes great measures in making the materials available for community review and comment, advertising these opportunities through multiple communication platforms.

Prior to the 2017 strategic plan, WWPS had fallen behind in acquiring up-to-date materials. As a result, the board funded an aggressive, five-year adoption cycle to ensure all students at all grade levels had access to updated curriculum aligned with current state and national standards.

Supplemental Instructional Materials

Of course, teachers don’t just use core textbooks as their sole instructional resource. They use news articles, supplementary texts, video clips, current events and other outside sources to add depth, richness and relevancy to support standards they are addressing within their content area.

The use and selection of these materials is governed by WWPS Board Policy #2020 – Course Design, Selection and Adoption of Instructional Materials, with more detail provided in the associated procedures:

Together, this policy and the five associated procedures provide the guidelines for how materials may be approved for use, at what ages, and with what forms of parental notification and permission is required. 

How Materials Are Selected for Availability in School Libraries

The adoption of library materials is governed by WWPS Board Policy #2021 – Library Information and Technology Programs and the accompanying procedure. Selection of library materials is based on five key priorities, aligned with the American Library Association and the American Association of School Libraries. They include:

 Parent Library Access Tips

 

  • Anyone has access to our school library collection through our public online interface: https://destiny.wwps.org/
  • Parents may request access to monitor their student’s library account by contacting their school’s librarian. In addition, families may request to remove their student’s library checkout privileges.
  • Any parent who wishes to review library materials in person may coordinate a visit through the building principal.
  • Parents who wish to express a concern about a specific material included in the collection may do so according to the process outlined in Procedure 2021P.
  • Providing resource materials, for both curricular and individual inquiry, for students and faculty;
  • Providing materials that meet the interest, vocabulary, maturity and ability levels of students;
  • Providing a diversity of materials in the interest of achieving a balance of sources and perspectives;
  • Fostering reading as a lifelong activity through exposure to printed and digital materials; and,
  • Including materials in the collection because of their academic, literary and/or artistic value and merit.

Librarians in each school curate collections utilizing their expertise, in addition to daily interactions with students and faculty. Before acquiring new library books, school librarians consult with Common Sense Media’s research-based, independent rating system to ensure library books beginning age/grade level recommendation does not exceed the age/grade span the library serves (e.g. 12 and up for elementary school, 15 and up for middle school, 18 and up/adult for high school). If the specific resource has not been reviewed by Common Sense Media, librarians will seek another nationally-recognized review service.

In accordance with Procedure 2020P, library books maintained in the school library to support college-level classes taught at the high school such as Running Start, College in the High School and AP/Honors programs, as a result of their advanced Lexile reading levels, are exempt from this procedure.    

Walla Walla Public Schools is proud to maintain skilled librarians at every level and houses a vast selection of books across each school campus. More recently, we are pleased with our efforts to grow our collection, featuring diverse voices and languages other than English for our students who come from multilingual families. We firmly believe every parent should be able to read to their kids!

State-required Sexual Health Education Curriculum

Overview of the Law and Curriculum

In 2020, the Washington legislature approved SB 5395, requiring all school districts to, “provide comprehensive sexual education instruction that is medically and scientifically accurate, evidence-informed, age-appropriate and aligned with the state’s health and learning standards.” The bill specifies standards to be taught, at what grade level, and the frequency of the instruction. Click here to review the state's learning standards by grade span.

Aligned with state requirements, sexual/health education is introduced at the 5th grade level in WWPS, beginning with introductory, age appropriate topics. Sexual education is not taught prior to 5th grade. The materials the School Board selected (Rights, Respect and Responsibility) were deeply vetted and reviewed in 2018, where dozens of stakeholders including parent, district faculty, the Community School Health Advisory Committee and the district's Instructional Materials Committee actively participated in the selection process. 

Prior to lessons being taught, the district provides notice to parents 30 days in advance, allowing them the opportunity to preview the materials ahead of time. All of the district’s sexual education curriculum and lessons continue to be available for parent review, in both English and Spanish, on the district’s website here.  After reviewing the lessons, parents may choose to opt their child out of instruction.

Common Questions & Answers

How can I find out what books my children are reading in class?
The district encourages parents to be involved and aware of what their children are learning. Depending on the grade level of instruction, teachers establish curricular plans and/or syllabi that identifies assigned books to be read ahead of time. Depending on the course of study, these are typically provided to students and families at the beginning of the school but may be accessed at any time by contacting the child’s teacher.   

In addition, Walla Walla Public Schools has multiple safeguards in place to ensure students are reading age-appropriate books in class. First, the district has identified Common Sense Media as an independent, third-party tool to help inform age-level appropriateness for novels. If the Common Sense age rating is at or below the proposed class level (see procedure for details), the book may be used without requiring parent or administrator permission.

If the Common Sense age rating is within one or two years above the typical class age level, teachers first secure principal permission to utilize the novel. If the principal agrees, parents are then notified using Form 2020: Parent Permission Form.  Any student whose parent chooses not to allow them to read the book will be provided an alternative assignment with equivalent participation.

College-level classes at the high school, as a result of their advanced Lexile reading levels, are exempt from this procedure. Teachers of such classes will make available a syllabus to students and families at the beginning of every year or term outlining novels to be read as part of the curricular program. If requested by families, an alternate resource will be made available.

How can I find out what videos my children are seeing in class?
The safeguards for videos mirror those for books, with details spelled out in a separate procedure.  The district relies on Motion Picture Association (MPAA) and TV ratings as a general guideline and requires parent permission whenever the rating guideline nears the age of students served in the class.  Teachers provide an alternate viewing assignment of the same value for students whose parent chooses to opt them out.

How do I know which books are in the school libraries?
For many years our school library collections have been made available through our public online interface: https://destiny.wwps.org/ There, parents can search each library collection by title, keyword, author, subject or series. Additionally, any parent who wishes to review our libraries in person is free to schedule a visit through the building principal.

I think a book in the school library is inappropriate for my student, what can I do?
It is an easy and straightforward process.  Parents may request access to monitor their student’s library account by contacting their school’s librarian. Additionally, families may also request to remove their student’s library checkout permissions.

I think a book in the school library is inappropriate for all students, what can I do?
Citizens who wish to express a concern about a specific collection included in the library may do so according to the procedures outlined in Procedure 2021P. This may include a formal review by the Library Materials Review Committee, consisting of school staff, parents and other representatives, who will review the book to ensure it meets library circulation criteria.

I have heard sensational stories on the types of sexual education instruction that is being taught in some schools across the nation. Is that happening in Walla Walla?
While Walla Walla cannot speak to other districts’ curriculum and materials, what is being taught in Walla Walla Public Schools was carefully vetted by parents and staff to ensure age-appropriate instruction, and aligns directly with state requirements. No sexual education is taught to students below 5th grade. At the 5th grade level, age-appropriate instruction is provided on topics like basic human growth and development (e.g. puberty). To access all lessons taught, 5th-12th grade, parents are encouraged to visit the website or contact the Teaching and Learning Department. 

What if I have additional questions not covered by this fact sheet?
If parents have concerns, we want to hear from them. The best first step is to begin the conversation with the teacher, librarian or building principal. However, please feel free to contact the district office at 509-527-3000.

 

[1] https://psycnet.apa.org/manuscript/2019-38879-001.pdf

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772  |  Online Tip Reporting System