翻译:
西班牙信息
A+ A A-

特殊教育

地区使命: 培养华盛顿最受欢迎的毕业生

特殊教育热线: 509.526.6770

特殊教育主任

利比汤普森倒钩凯西
瓦拉瓦拉公立学校区办公室
公园街 364 号
西澳大利亚州沃拉沃拉99362
509.526.6724(办公室)
509.526.4344(传真)
509-876-6141(区牢房)
bcasey@wwps.org

Barb 自 2008 年以来一直在 Walla Walla 公立学校工作。Barb 是特殊需求领域的国家委员会认证教师。 她曾担任该地区的特殊教育教师、行为专家和小学校长。 她热衷于确保所有学生的归属感,并重视与教职员工、学生和家庭合作,为我们的学生取得最佳成果。

“多样性被邀请参加聚会; 包容被要求跳舞。” - 维娜迈尔斯

特殊教育人员

Elissa Tinder,特殊教育专家
509.526.6780(办公室)
509.500.0593(单元格)
etinder@wwps.org

戴安娜·埃文森,特殊教育专家
509.526.6763(办公室)
507.400.7123(单元格)
devenson@wwps.org

Holly Anderson,SLP/地区辅助技术协调员
509.526.6725(办公室)
513.603.9440(单元格)
handerson@wwps.org

Gracie Cortez,特殊教育部长
509.526.6724(办公室)
gcortez@wwps.org

Breelin Renwick,特殊教育记录
509.526.6729(办公室)
brenwick@wwps.org

特殊教育计划和服务概述

特殊教育服务提供给从出生到 21 岁的所有患有轻度至重度残疾的儿童,这会影响他们获得免费和适当的公共教育 (FAPE)。

找孩子

Child Find 是识别从出生到 21 岁的残疾学生的过程的重要组成部分,以便儿童获得充分接受教育所需的服务。 在此处查看最新的 Child Find 传单:

流程

推荐-
如果您怀疑您的孩子有限制他们接受全面教育的残疾,请联系您学生的学校,询问特殊教育转介事宜。 书面推荐信可以提供给学习专家、指导顾问、学校心理学家、校长或教师。 学校心理学家将就您的推荐与您联系。

评估决定——
学校心理学家收到推荐信后,会将推荐信带到学校的特殊教育团队,在那里他们将分析使学生成为关注焦点的信息。 该团队有 25 个上课日来确定是否需要进行评估。 如果团队决定不进行评估,团队将联系家长并决定该学生的后续步骤。 如果特殊教育团队决定进行评估,学校心理学家将获得监护人/家长的许可。

评估-
一旦家长/监护人获得评估许可,特殊教育团队有 35 个日历日的时间来完成同意书上指定的所有评估领域。 这些评估可能包括以下内容:认知、学术、社会/行为、适应性、职业、交流、精细和粗大运动、视力、听力、移动性和医疗。 这些评估的目的是广泛而具体地了解孩子的长处和短处。

初步评估会议-
在完成所有评估、观察和/或清单后,团队(包括家长/监护人)将开会审查结果,团队将确定学生是否有资格获得特殊教育服务。 如果团队认为学生符合条件,则将针对学生的特殊需求设计个性化教育计划。

初步个别化教育计划-
最初的个性化教育计划 (IEP) 将编写,以便在团队确定他们符合资格的所有领域(即阅读、写作、数学、社交/行为、适应性等)向学生提供专门设计的指导. 该会议将包括家长/监护人、特殊教育教师、学校心理学家(在某些情况下)、适当时的普通教育教师、管理员和其他需要的专家。 该计划设计该计划包括当前的表现水平、学生努力实现的目标、学生将获得的服务、对学生整体计划的调整/修改以及其他特殊考虑因素。 该会议必须在评估会议后的 30 个日历日内举行。

特殊教育服务启动-
一旦举行了初始 IEP 会议并且法定监护人/父母签署了开始服务的同意书,指定的服务可以在 IEP 中规定的约定日期开始。 特别设计的教学 (SDI) 是由团队在 IEP 会议期间决定提供的服务,旨在满足每个学生的特殊需求。

时间线-
在最初的特殊教育转介、评估和 IEP 过程中有严格的时间表。 请参阅下面的链接以访问该时间表:

特殊教育初始转介时间表

IEP 审查-
每年,至少在上一个 IEP 日期的前一天,IEP 必须由团队在 IEP 会议期间进行审查。 IEP 是一份工作文件,可以随时查看,但必须每年至少进行一次。

IEP 修正案-
可以在整个 IEP 年度中对 IEP 进行小的更改和更正。 任何团队成员都可以在适当的时候请求修改。

重新评估-
至少每三年,每个参加特殊教育项目的孩子都将由合格的专业团队审查他们的项目。 这样做是为了评估孩子计划的效果,并确定他们是否继续有资格获得特殊教育服务。 如果团队认为有必要,可以在三年到期之前进行重新评估。

退出服务-
当团队认为不再需要特殊教育服务(通常基于测试、清单、观察和家长意见)或家长签署表格说他们正在撤销服务时,学生可以退出特殊教育服务。

特殊教育服务的连续性

特殊教育服务基于对专门设计教学的需求水平。 一个合格的专业团队,连同家长/监护人,确定满足学生需求所需的服务。 这些特殊教育服务处于从限制最少的环境到限制最大的环境的连续统一体上。 Walla Walla 学区有各种专门设计的课程,可以针对每个学生的特殊需求。 这些程序如下:

学龄前:

  • 完全包含在课堂上的支持- 被沃拉沃拉的 Head Start、ECEAP 或过渡幼儿园录取的学生将在他们的学前班课堂上由我们的特殊教育老师和辅助教育者提供服务。
  • 拉出服务- 学生可以在较小的环境中接受特殊教育人员特别设计的指导,并返回他们的普通教育学前班。
  • 瓦拉瓦拉幼儿园- 该学前班课程专为需要更有条理的环境和在多个领域有针对性的技能发展的儿童而设计。
  • 发展游戏小组- 该计划专为 3 岁儿童设计。 重点是让孩子们在社会上发展,并在他们的特殊教育服务领域提供专门设计的指导。

小学:

  • 完全包含在课堂上的支持- 课堂服务让学生受益于通识教育课程,提供差异化​​的教学和与同龄人的接触。 所有小学都提供这种类型的支持。
  • 资源室拉出支持- 资源室服务允许学生在较小的环境中接受专门设计的目标技能指导,但学生也可以继续获得适当的同伴和通识教育课程。
  • 通过结构化教育 (RISE) 支持实现独立- RISE 计划通过更有针对性的技能发展提供更多结构,其中可能包括以下内容:行为管理、自我调节技能、学前/学业技能、适应技能、社交技能和感官整合技能。 这间教室位于格林公园小学。
  • 在我们的社区帮助 (REACH) 支持下实现卓越成就- 该计划支持有中度至重度残疾的学生,这严重阻碍了他们获得通识教育课程的能力。 该计划的学生可能需要获得远低于同龄同龄人的视力服务、运动服务、言语服务和课程。 IEP 团队决定在一般环境中应该使用哪些服务,并确定对学生的好处。
  • DD支持- 这个教室支持我们刚进入小学的非常年轻的学生,但仍然有一些确定的需求需要更多的支持,而不仅仅是通过位于每栋大楼的资源室接受特殊教育服务。 该计划的学生由特殊教育幼儿园的专业团队特别安排。 学生在沟通、社交技能和/或行为、精细/粗大运动疗法以及阅读、写作和数学的学术和/或学前教育领域接受深入干预。 较小的班级规模,减少成人与学生的比例(一名教师和 3 名辅助专业人员),以及语言病理学家和物理治疗师的合作,确保每个学生都会随着时间的推移取得进步。 学生能够以自己的速度学习新技能,并且可以在课堂上保持长达三年的时间。
  • 社会情绪学习 (SEL) 支持- 这个程序提供创造一个学生可以获得学术支持和有针对性的行为干预的环境。 该课堂的组成部分包括团体社交技能、适当时的个人咨询、自尊建立和积极的行为支持,以便学生尽可能进入普通教育环境。 该计划目前位于伯尼小学。

中学:

  • 完全包含在课堂上的支持- 课堂服务让学生受益于通识教育课程,提供差异化​​的教学和与同龄人的接触。 两所中学都提供这种类型的支持。
  • 资源室支持- 资源室服务允许学生在较小的环境中接受专门设计的目标技能指导,但学生也可以继续获得适当的同伴和通识教育课程。 两所中学都为学生提供资源室支持。
  • 通过结构化教育 (RISE) 支持实现独立- RISE 计划通过更有针对性的技能发展提供更多结构,其中可能包括以下内容:行为管理、自我调节技能、学前/学业技能、适应技能、社交技能和感官整合技能。 许多参加 RISE 课程的学生继续在一般环境中度过他们一天的一部分时间,但是,这可能并不适合所有学生。 IEP 团队决定在普通教育环境中花费的时间。 中学 RISE 计划目前位于加里森中学。
  • 在我们的社区帮助 (REACH) 支持下实现卓越成就- 该计划支持有中度至重度残疾的学生,这严重阻碍了他们获得通识教育课程的能力。 该计划的学生可能需要获得远低于同龄同龄人的视力服务、运动服务、言语服务和课程。 IEP 团队决定在一般环境中应使用哪些服务,并确定对学生的好处。 目前,中学生活技能项目位于先锋中学。
  • 社交/情感学习 (SEL)- 我们的中学行为项目目前设在加里森中学。 每个参加这个项目的学生都会有一个专门设计的计划来满足他们的个人行为需求。 这可能包括以下内容:修改的时间表、额外的工作人员支持、紧急响应协议、特殊教育巴士等。参与该计划的学生通常在普通教育环境中上课。 如果学生花时间在一般环境中,该决定将由 IEP 团队做出,其中包括家长/监护人。 中学 SEL 计划位于 Garrison 中学。

中学:

瓦拉瓦拉高中:

  • 完全包含有或没有课堂支持- 课堂服务让学生受益于通识教育课程,提供差异化​​的教学和与同龄人的接触。 在适合学生的情况下,这种类型的支持适用于所有高中课程。
  • 资源室支持- 资源室服务允许学生在较小的环境中接受专门设计的目标技能指导,但学生也可以继续获得适当的同伴和通识教育课程。
  • 在我们的社区帮助 (REACH) 支持下实现卓越成就- 需要更重要或直接服务的学生将能够通过多种方式获得这些服务。 这可能包括但不限于以下内容:职业教育和培训、社会/情感支持、独立生活教育、社区访问、在职培训、人际交往能力、自我宣传和社会思考/交流。
  • 学生过渡到就业机会(步骤)- STEP 课程专为 18-21 岁的轻度至中度残疾学生而设计。 由其 IEP 团队(包括该学生)确定为继续需要专门设计的职业、工作技能、社区访问、公共交通访问和独立生活技能指导的学生可能有资格参加该计划。

林肯高中:

  • 林肯高中连续服务- 林肯高中为那些希望小班授课、更加个性化的关注和教育机会的学生提供服务。 林肯残疾学生可以在资源室环境、有或没有支持的普通教育环境中上课,或者在有重大社交/情感需求的学生的独立教室中上课。
  • 林肯高中社会情感学习 (SEL) 计划- 在林肯的行为计划中,学生可能会获得以下内容:社会/情感支持、职业培训、社会思维和沟通技巧、人际交往能力、自我宣传技巧、学术服务和行为矫正技巧。

相关特殊教育服务

相关服务是指残疾儿童为了从特殊教育中受益而需要的那些服务。 相关服务的一些示例是职业治疗、物理治疗、言语/语言治疗、视觉服务以及定向和移动服务。 Walla Walla 很幸运拥有为我们的学生提供相关服务的高素质专业人士。

特殊教育人员

Walla Walla 儿童与家庭中心 - 学前特殊教育

  • Rachel Eng,学前特殊教育老师

  • Stephanie Huse,学前特殊教育老师

小学特殊教育教师

  • 凯瑟琳·吉尔摩,伯尼 - 资源室
  • Shawn Reser,伯尼 - 资源室
  • Lisa Merrill,伯尼 - SEL
  • Tasha Mayne,爱迪生 - 资源室
  • Esther Angotti,绿色公园 - REACH
  • 伊丽莎白戈布尔,绿色公园 - REACH
  • Marcia Frandsen,绿色公园 - 资源室
  • 尚塔尔·拉米雷斯,绿色公园 - 资源室
  • Abbie Maddess,Prospect Point - 资源室
  • Nicole Bunker,展望点 - 资源室
  • Meg Cochran,Sharpstein - DD 支持
  • Marilee Stimmell,Sharpstein - RISE
  • Nicole Hyatt, Sharpstein - 资源室
  • Laurie Schuetze,Sharpstein,资源室

中学特殊教育教师

  • 米歇尔潘恩,加里森 - RISE
  • 乍得帕特森,驻军 - SEL
  • 内特卡拉拉,驻军 - 资源
  • Nate Ferraro,加里森 - 资源
  • 布鲁克·金博尔,加里森 - 资源
  • 亚历克西斯尼尔,先锋 - REACH
  • Nathan Dross,先锋 - 资源
  • Danica Bentley,先锋 - 资源
  • Jaimee Pollan,先锋 - 资源

高中特殊教育教师

  • 玛德琳布莱克本,林肯 - SEL
  • 四月索伦森,林肯 - 资源
  • Kris Bland,林肯 - 资源
  • Laura Bertinelli,Wa-Hi - 资源
  • 布赖恩·泰勒,Wa-Hi - 资源
  • Krystal Ceron, Wa-Hi - REACH
  • Angela Sallee,Wa-Hi - 资源
  • 珍妮弗·布滕霍夫,Wa-Hi - 资源
  • 亚当·伯格,Wa-Hi - 资源
  • Jake Butenhoff,Wa-Hi - STEP

相关服务人员:

语音和语言病理学家

  • 嘉莉·迪德
  • 霍莉·安德森
  • 艾琳·阿米乔
  • 玛丽埃尔拉斯康
  • 戴恩·纳尔逊
  • 纽康小姐
  • 奥黛丽施密德
  • 埃斯梅拉达·帕卡卡
  • 埃斯特法尼亚·莫雷诺
  • 金·格林

物理和职业治疗师

  • Christian Davidson Juhnke,物理治疗师
  • Kaitlyn Reser,职业治疗师
  • 乔恩·梅伯里,物理治疗师
  • Grace Dostal,视力专家

美国手语翻译

  • 艾琳·格里芬

学校心理学家

  • 布兰迪麦金太尔,瓦希
  • 斯蒂芬·加洛韦,伯尼和格林公园
  • 希瑟·亚当斯、加里森和爱迪生
  • 罗伯·格雷厄姆、林肯和瓦希
  • Emma Kubrock,Walla Walla 儿童和家庭中心和 Sharpstein DD/RISe
  • Roseanna Crimmini, Sharpstein Resource & Pioneer
  • 金布滕霍夫,展望点

瓦拉瓦拉公立学校 • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • 电话: 509-527-3000 • 传真: 509.529.7713

SS-标志-警报-透明 安全学校提示行: 855.976.8772  |  在线提示报告系统

1x1trans
Translate Información en Español:
A+ A A-

Special Education

District Mission: Developing Washington's most sought-after graduates

Special Education Hotline: 509.526.6770

Director of Special Education

LibbyThompsonLibby Thompson
Walla Walla Public Schools District Office
364 S. Park Street
Walla Walla, WA 99362
509.526.6724 (Office)
509.526.4344 (Fax)
507-400-7446 (District Cell)
lthompson@wwps.org

Libby has been with Walla Walla Public Schools since 2014 as the Director of Special Education. She has an open door policy for parents and staff and always strives to make sure all parties are heard. Libby is a former special education teacher and assistant director and is passionate about the work Walla Walla is doing for students with special needs. Libby believes in inclusive education and having high expectations for all students.

“Diversity is being invited to the party; inclusion is being asked to dance.” - Verna Myers

Special Education Staff

Elissa Tinder, Special Education Specialist
509.526.6780 (office)
509.500.0593 (cell)
etinder@wwps.org

Diana Evenson, Special Education Specialist
509.526.6763 (office)
507.400.7123 (cell)
devenson@wwps.org

Holly Anderson, SLP/District Assisitive Technology Coordinator
509.526.6725 (office)
513.603.9440 (cell)
handerson@wwps.org

Marianne O’Leary, Special Education Secretary
509.526.6724 (office)
moleary@wwps.org

Breelin Renwick, Special Education Records
509.526.6729 (office)
brenwick@wwps.org

Special Education Program and Services Overview

Special Education services are offered to all children from birth to 21 years of age who have mild to severe disabilities which affects their access to a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE).

Child Find

Child Find is an essential part of the process of identifying students with disabilities from birth to age 21 in order for children to receive the services needed to fully access their education. See the latest Child Find flyer here:

The Process

Referral-
If you suspect that your child has a disability which is limiting their access to a full education, contact your student’s school to inquire about a special education referral. The written referral can be given to a learning specialist, guidance counselor, building’s school psychologist, principal or teacher. The school psychologist will contact you about your referral.

Decision to Assess-
Once the school psychologist has the referral, they will take the referral to the school’s special education team where they will analyze the information that has made the student a focus of concern. The team has 25 school days to determine if an evaluation is warranted. If the team decides not to assess, the team will contact the parent and decide what the next steps will be for that student. If the special education team does decide to assess, the school psychologist will obtain permission from guardians/parents.

Assessment-
Once the permission to assess has been obtained by parents/guardians, the special education team has 35 calendar days in order to complete all areas of assessment that were designated on the consent form. These assessments may include the following: cognitive, academic, social/behavior, adaptive, vocational, communication, fine and gross motor, vision, hearing, mobility, and medical. The purpose of these assessments is to gain a broad and specific understanding of a child’s strengths and weaknesses.

Initial Evaluation Meeting-
After all assessments, observations, and/or inventories are complete, the team (which includes parents/guardians) will meet to go over results and the team will determine whether the student is eligible for special education services. If the student is deemed eligible by the team, then an Individualized Education Plan will be designed for the students particular needs.

Initial Individualized Education Plan-
The initial Individualized Education Plan (IEP) will be writing in order to provide specially designed instruction to the student in all of the areas that the team determined they qualify in (ie. reading, writing, math, social/behavior, adaptive, etc). This meeting will include the parent/guardian, special education teacher, school psychologist (in some cases), general education teachers when appropriate, administrator, and other specialists as needed. This plan designs that program includes present level of performance, goals for the student to work toward, services that the student will be accessing, accommodations/modifications to the student’s overall program, and other special considerations. This meeting must be held within 30 calendar days of the evaluation meeting.

Start of Special Education Services-
Once the initial IEP meeting has been held and the legal guardian/parent has signed consent to begin services, designated services may begin on the agreed upon date stated in the IEP. Specially Designed Instruction (SDI) is the provision of services that were decided upon by the team during the IEP meeting and are designed to meet the special needs of each individual student.

Timelines-
There are strict timelines during the initial special education referral, evaluation, and IEP process. See the link below to access that timeline:

Special Education Initial Referral Timeline

IEP Review-
Every year, at least one day before the previous IEP date, the IEP must be reviewed by the team during the IEP meeting. An IEP is a working document and can be reviewed at any time, but must be done at least once per year.

IEP Amendments-
Small changes and corrections to the IEP can be made throughout the IEP year. Any team member can request amendments when appropriate.

Re evaluation-
At least every three years, every child in special education programs will have their program reviewed by a team of qualified professionals. This is done to evaluate the efficacy of the child’s program and to determine if they continue to qualify for special education services. A re evaluation can be done before the three year due date if the team deems it necessary.

Exiting from Services-
Students can be exited from special education services when the team deems that services are no longer needed (usually based on testing, inventories, observations, and parent input) or if a parent signs a form saying that they are revoking services.

Continuum of Special Education Services

Special Education services are based on the level of need for specially designed instruction. A team of qualified professionals, along with parents/guardians, make the determination for services required to meet a student’s needs. These special education services are on a continuum from the least restrictive environment to the most restrictive environment. Walla Walla School District has a variety of specially designed programs which can target the special needs of each student. Those programs are as follows:

Preschool:

  • Full Inclusion with in-class support- Students who are accepted into Head Start, ECEAP, or transitional kindergarten in Walla Walla are served in their preschool classroom by our special education teacher and para-educators.
  • Pull out services- Students are able to access specially designed instruction by special education staff in a smaller environment and return to their general education preschool classroom.
  • Walla Walla Preschool- This preschool program is designed for children who need a more structured environment and targeted skill development in multiple areas.
  • Developmental Playgroup- This program is designed for children who are 3 years of age. The focus is on allowing children to develop socially as well as providing specially designed instruction in their areas of special education services.

Elementary School:

  • Full Inclusion with in-class support- In class services allow for students to have the benefit of the general education curriculum with differentiated instruction and access to their peers. This type of support is available in all the elementary schools.
  • Resource Room pull out support- Resource Room services allow for students to receive specially designed instruction in targeted skills in a smaller environment, but the student also continues to have access to peers and general education curriculum as appropriate.
  • Reaching Independence through Structured Education (R.I.S.E) support- R.I.S.E program provides more structure through more targeted skills development which may include the following: behavioral management, self-regulation skills, pre-academic/academic skills, adaptive skills, social skills, and sensory integration skills. Many students attending R.I.S.E. programs continue to spend part of their day in the general setting, however, this may not be appropriate for all students. The IEP team makes decisions on the amount of time spent in general education settings. The district has three classrooms for students needing this type of program. All three classrooms are located at Green Park Elementary.
  • Realizing Exceptional Accomplishments With Our Communities Help (REACH) support- This program supports students with moderate to severe disabilities which significantly impedes their ability to access the general education curriculum. Students in this program may need access to vision services, motor services, speech services, and curriculum which is well below that of their same-age peers. The IEP team makes decisions about what services should be accessed in the general setting and determines what the benefit would be to the student.
  • DD Support- This classroom supports our very young students that are just entering Elementary School, but still have some identified needs that require more support than just receiving Special Education Services through the Resource Rooms located in every building. Students in this program are specially placed by a team of Professionals from the Special Education Preschool. The students receive in-depth intervention in the areas of Communication, Social Skills and/or Behavior, and both Fine/Gross Motor therapy, as well as in the Academic and/or Pre-Academic areas of Reading, Writing, and Math. A smaller class size with a reduced ratio of adults-to-students (one Teacher and 3 Para-professionals), along with teaming by both the Speech-Language Pathologist and Physical therapist ensures each and every student will make progress over time. Students are able to learn new skills at their own speed, and can remain a member of that classroom for up to three years.
  • Social Emotional Learning (SEL) support- This program provides an environment where students can receive academic support in conjunction with targeted behavioral interventions. Components to this classroom include group social skills, individual counseling when appropriate, self-esteem building, and positive behavior supports in order for students to access the general education setting whenever possible. This program is currently located at Berney Elementary School.

Middle School:

  • Full Inclusion with in-class support- In class services allow for students to have the benefit of the general education curriculum with differentiated instruction and access to their peers. This type of support is available in both middle schools.
  • Resource Room support- Resource Room services allow for students to receive specially designed instruction in targeted skills in a smaller environment, but the student also continues to have access to peers and general education curriculum as appropriate. Both middle schools offer resource room support for students.
  • Reaching Independence through Structured Education (R.I.S.E) support- R.I.S.E program provides more structure through more targeted skills development which may include the following: behavioral management, self-regulation skills, pre-academic/academic skills, adaptive skills, social skills, and sensory integration skills. Many students attending R.I.S.E. programs continue to spend part of their day in the general setting, however, this may not be appropriate for all students. The IEP team makes decisions on the amount of time spent in general education settings. The Middle School R.I.S.E. program is currently located at Garrison Middle School.
  • Realizing Exceptional Accomplishments With Our Communities Help (REACH) support- This program supports students with moderate to severe disabilities which significantly impedes their ability to access the general education curriculum. Students in this program may need access to vision services, motor services, speech services, and curriculum which is well below that of their same-age peers. The IEP team makes decisions about what services should be accessed in the general setting and determines what the benefit would be to the student. Currently, the middle school life skills program is located at Pioneer middle school.
  • Social/Emotional Learning (S.E.L)- Our middle school behavior program is currently housed at Garrison Middle School. Each student attending this program will have a specially designed plan to meet their individual behavior needs. This might include the following: modified schedules, additional staff supports, Emergency Response Protocols, special education bussing, etc. Students participating in this program often have classes in the general education environment. If students spend time in the general setting, this decision will have been made by the IEP team, which includes the parent/guardian. The middle school S.E.L. program is located at Garrison Middle School.

High School:

Walla Walla High School:

  • Full Inclusion with or without in-class support- In class services allow for students to have the benefit of the general education curriculum with differentiated instruction and access to their peers. This type of support is available throughout all high school classes when appropriate for students.
  • Resource Room support- Resource Room services allow for students to receive specially designed instruction in targeted skills in a smaller environment, but the student also continues to have access to peers and general education curriculum as appropriate.
  • Realizing Exceptional Accomplishments With Our Communities Help (REACH) support- Students who require more significant or direct services will be able to have access to those services through a variety of means. This could include, but is not limited to, the following: vocational education and training, social/emotional support, independent living education, community access, on-the-job training, interpersonal skills, self-advocacy, and social thinking/communication.
  • Students Transitioning into Employment Possibilities (S.T.E.P)- The S.T.E.P program is designed for students 18-21 years of age with mild to moderate disabilities. Students who are identified by their IEP Team, which includes the student, as continuing to need specially designed instruction in vocational, job skills, community access, public transportation access, and independent living skills may be eligible for this program.

Lincoln High School:

  • Lincoln High School Continuum of Services- Lincoln High School serves those students who desire smaller class sizes, more individualized attention and educational opportunities. Lincoln students with disabilities can access their classes in a resource room setting, general education setting with or without support, or in a self-contained classroom for students with significant social/emotional needs.
  • Lincoln High School Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Program- In the behavior program at Lincoln, students may receive the following: social/emotional support, vocational training, social thinking and communication skills, interpersonal skills, self-advocacy skills, academic services, and behavior modification techniques.

Related Special Education Services

Related services is the term for those services a child with a disability needs in order to benefit from special education. A few examples of related services are Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech/Language Therapy, Vision Services, and Orientation and Mobility Services. Walla Walla is fortunate to be fully staffed with highly qualified professionals who provide related services to our students.

Special Education Staff

Walla Walla Center for Children & Families - Preschool Special Education

  • Abigail “Abbie” Smyth, Preschool Special Education Teacher

Elementary Special Education Teachers

  • Kathleen Gilmore, Berney - Resource Room
  • Lisa Merrill, Berney - SEL
  • Tasha Mayne, Edison - Resource Room
  • Esther Angotti, Green Park - REACH
  • Kelsie Loree, Green Park - RISE
  • Katie Ingram, Green Park - RISE
  • Marcia Frandsen, Green Park - Resource Room
  • Danica Bentley, Green Park - Resource Room
  • Diane Wright, Prospect Point - Resource Room
  • Nicole Bunker, Prospect Point - Resource Room
  • Meg Cochran, Sharpstein - DD Support
  • Nicole Hyatt, Sharpstein - Resource Room
  • Laurie Schuetze, Sharpstein, Resource Room

Middle School Special Education Teachers

  • Michelle Paine, Garrison - RISE
  • Chad Paterson, Garrison - SEL
  • Nate Carrara, Garrison - Resource
  • Nate Ferraro, Garrison - Resource
  • Adam Berg, Garrison - Resource
  • Jordon Poynor, Pioneer - REACH
  • Nathan Dross, Pioneer - Resource
  • Jaimee Rossi, Pioneer - Resource

High School Special Education Teachers

  • Madeleine Blackburn, Lincoln - SEL
  • Brooke Kimball, Lincoln - Resource
  • Kris Bland, Lincoln - Resource
  • Laura Bertinelli, Wa-Hi - Resource
  • Brian Taylor, Wa-Hi - Resource
  • Krystal Ceron, Wa-Hi - REACH
  • Dave Larson, Wa-Hi - Resource
  • Jennifer Butenhoff, Wa-Hi - Resource
  • Adam Berg, Wa-Hi - Resource
  • Jake Butenhoff, Wa-Hi - STEP

Walla Walla On-Line Teachers

  • Monica Collins - K-12
  • Gina Stahlheber- K-12

Related Services Staff:

Speech and Language Pathologists

  • Carrie Diede
  • Kelli Neal
  • Holly Anderson
  • Erin Armijo
  • Tyler Comstock
  • Dyan Nelson
  • Missy Newcom
  • Audrey Schmid
  • Megan Stadnik
  • Kim Greene

Physical and Occupational Therapists

  • Christian Davidson Juhnke, Physical Therapist
  • Kaitlyn Reser, Occupational Therapist

Vision Specialist

  • Grace Dostal

American Sign Language Interpreters

  • Serena James
  • Erin Griffin

School Psychologists

  • Brandi McIntire, Berney and WaHi
  • Heather Adams, Pioneer and Edison
  • Kim Butenhoff, Sharpstein and Prospect Point
  • Annie Boyd, Green Park
  • Rob Graham, Garrison and Lincoln
  • Emma Kubrock, Walla Walla Center for Children and Families and Walla Walla On-Line
  • Alicia Quackenbush, Wa-Hi

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772  |  Online Tip Reporting System