翻译:
西班牙信息
A+ A A-

搜索政策和程序

3143 - 通知和传播有关学生犯罪的信息以及暴力或伤害威胁的通知

董事会政策第 3143 号 (P)

学生犯罪信息的通知和传播以及暴力或伤害威胁的通知

Walla Walla 学区致力于为所有学生和教职员工提供安全可靠的环境。 所有学生,包括那些因犯罪或被裁定犯罪的学生,都享有接受公共教育的宪法权利。

A. 县治安官办公室、法院、社会和健康服务部、惩教部和其他学区的学生违规通知。

学区从几个法定授权来源接收有关学生违规者的通知和信息,包括县治安官办公室、法院、社会和健康服务部、惩教部以及学生之前就读的其他学区。 当学区收到来自任何这些来源的学生违规通知和信息时,将采取适当的预防措施。 学生纪律(如果有)将与 3241 – 学生纪律一致。

学监或其指定人员和校长在确定和实施与学生违规通知和信息相关的适当预防措施方面发挥着重要作用。 如果学监、学监的指定人员或学校校长根据 RCW 28A.225.330(来自其他学区的通知)、9A.44.138(致学区的警长通知)、13.04.155(法院通知)收到学生违规信息学区)、13.40.215(儿童、青少年和家庭部向学区的通知)或 72.09.730(更正部门向学区的通知),将遵循以下通知规定。

1. 性犯罪和登记的性犯罪或绑架犯罪者。

一种。 主管或指定人员。 在收到有关 RCW 9.94A.030 中定义的性犯罪的信息或收到有关根据 RCW 9A.44.138 注册的性犯罪或绑架犯罪者的信息后,学监或其指定人员将向学校校长提供信息学生注册或将注册的地方——或者,如果不知道,学生最近注册的地方。

湾。 校长。 当委托人收到上述信息时,他或她必须按照以下方式披露信息。

如果学生被归类为 II 级或 III 级风险,校长应​​将收到的信息提供给该学生的每一位教师以及根据校长的判断监督该学生或出于安全目的应该知道的任何其他人员学生的记录。

如果学生被归类为 I 级风险,校长应​​仅将收到的信息提供给根据校长的判断,出于安全目的应了解学生记录的人员。

C。 被定罪的青少年性犯罪者在受害者学校就读。 被定罪的未成年性犯罪者不得进入其受害者或其兄弟姐妹就读的小学、初中或高中。 被定罪的少年性犯罪者的父母或法定监护人应负责提供交通或支付与性犯罪者转学相关或要求的其他费用。

社会和健康服务部 (DSHS) 性犯罪者上学计划协助确保青少年性犯罪者,致力于少年康复管理局 (JRA),不与受害者或其兄弟姐妹在同一所学校就读。 如果学校发生冲突,DSHS 计划工作人员将与 JRA 合作,将罪犯转移到另一所学校。

d。 合作。 在与需要登记为性犯罪或绑架犯罪者的学生一起工作时,校长或指定人员将与惩教部门、少年司法人员、治疗提供者、受害者支持团体和家庭(如适用)进行协商和合作。

e. 公众查询。 执法机构接收有关将性和绑架罪犯释放到社区的相关信息,并决定何时需要向公众发布此类信息。 因此,学区和学校工作人员将把所有公众(包括家长和学生)关于需要登记为性犯罪或绑架犯罪者的学生的所有询问直接提交给执法部门。

2. 暴力犯罪、枪支和危险武器犯罪、非法持有或运送受控物质或学校纪律处分。

一种。 主管或指定人员。 在收到有关 RCW 9.94A.030 中定义的暴力犯罪的信息、RCW 第 9.41 章下的任何犯罪、违反 RCW 第 69.50 章的受控物质的非法持有或交付或两者兼有,或学校纪律处分的信息后,学监或指定人员将向学生注册或将注册的学校校长提供信息,或者,如果不知道,则提供学生最近注册的学校的校长。

湾。 校长。 当校长收到上述信息时,如果根据校长的判断,该信息对于以下情况是必要的,他或她有权与学区工作人员分享该信息:
• 监督学生的工作人员;
• 为学生提供或转介学生接受治疗或行为健康服务的工作人员; 或者
• 安全目的。

学校校长和工作人员应注意不要让学生的人口统计或个人特征影响是否分享收到的信息的决定。

收到有关少年法庭对违反 RCW 第 69.50 章非法持有受控物质的裁决的信息后,校长必须在与学区工作人员分享信息前至少五天通知学生和家长或法定监护人.

如果学生或学生的家长或法定监护人反对共享信息的提议,学生、学生的家长或法定监护人或两者都可以在收到校长通知后的五个工作日内对决定提出上诉按照学区制定的程序与工作人员分享信息给学区总监。

主管应在收到上述上诉后五个工作日内就此事作出书面决定。 总监根据本小节作出的决定是最终决定,不得进一步上诉。

在上诉未决期间,校长不得与学区工作人员分享本小节规定的裁决信息。

3. 公共记录法。

根据《公共记录法》(RCW 第 42.56 章),学区工作人员收到的任何信息均免于披露,并且不得进一步传播,除非 RCW 28A.225.330、其他法规或判例法以及家庭和教育和1994 年隐私权法案(20 USC Sec. 1232g et seq.)。

4. 将学生罪犯分配到某些教室。

学生根据第 9A.36 章(袭击)、9A.40(绑架、非法监禁、监管干预、引诱、贩卖和强迫非自愿奴役)、9A.46(骚扰)或 9A.48 RCW(纵火、鲁莽焚烧和恶意恶作剧),当活动针对教师时,在学生就读该学校或分配该教师的任何其他学校期间,不得将其分配到该教师的教室。

根据第 9A.36 章(袭击)、9A.40(绑架、非法监禁、羁押干扰、引诱、贩卖和强迫非自愿奴役)、9A.46(骚扰)或 9A.48 RCW 规定犯罪的学生(纵火、鲁莽焚烧和恶意恶作剧),当针对另一名学生时,可能会在该学生就读该学校或受害者就读的任何其他学校期间从受害者的课堂上移走。


B. 暴力或伤害威胁通知。

受到暴力或伤害威胁的学生和学校员工将及时收到威胁通知。 “暴力或伤害威胁”是指以任何方式进行的直接或间接通信,其意图是对特定个人或个人造成身体伤害,或使人担心即将发生严重伤害的可能性。

学区将以符合政策和程序 3225——基于学校的威胁评估、其他安全政策和全面的安全学校计划的方式评估和解决潜在的暴力或伤害威胁。 如果威胁被视为中等风险或高风险,或需要进一步干预以防止暴力或严重伤害,学校管理人员应通知任何成为威胁目标/接受者的学生的家长和/或监护人,以及作出威胁的任何学生的家长和/或监护人。 学区将确保通知使用父母和/或监护人理解的语言,这可能需要根据 1964 年民权法案第 VI 章为英语能力有限的父母或监护人提供语言帮助。

如果对学生或其他个人的健康或安全存在特定且重大的威胁,学区可将教育记录中的信息披露给有必要了解该信息的相关方。 通知的时间和细节将在联邦家庭教育权利和隐私法、其他法律限制和情况允许的范围内尽可能广泛。

学区可以使用与符合政策和程序 3241 – 学生纪律的学生纪律有关的伤害或暴力威胁的信息。

学区、董事会、学校官员和学校员工按照要求真诚地提供通知并符合董事会的政策,免于因此类通知而产生的任何责任。 根据 RCW 9A.20.021 故意和恶意或恶意,故意作出虚假威胁通知的人犯有轻罪,应受到处罚。

C. 免疫。

任何按照联邦和州法律发布信息的学区或学区员工均免于承担民事损害赔偿责任,除非证明学区或学区员工的行为存在重大过失或恶意。

 

交叉参考:
董事会政策 2161 为符合条件的学生提供的特殊教育和相关服务
董事会政策 2162 根据 504 年康复法案第 1973 条对残疾学生进行教育
董事会政策 3120 招生
董事会政策 3140 释放居民学生
董事会政策 3207 禁止骚扰、恐吓和欺凌
董事会政策 3225 基于学校的威胁评估
董事会政策 3231 学生记录
董事会政策 3241 学生纪律
董事会政策 4020 机密通信
董事会政策 5281 纪律处分和解雇

法律参考:
RCW 13.04.155 向校长通知定罪、裁决或转移协议——向教师和其他人员提供信息——保密
RCW 4.24.550 性犯罪者和绑架者 — 向公众发布信息 — 网站
RCW 9A.44.130 性犯罪者和绑架者的登记——程序——定义——处罚
RCW 13.04.155 向校长通知定罪、裁决或转移协议——向教师和其他人员提供信息——保密
RCW 13.40.215 被发现犯有暴力或性犯罪或跟踪行为的青少年——释放、假释、假释、转移或逃跑的通知——给谁——定义
RCW 28A.225.330 招收来自其他学区的学生 — 要求提供信息和永久记录 — 扣留成绩单 — 免除责任 — 通知教师和保安人员 — 规则
RCW 28A.320.128 通知和披露政策 — 暴力威胁 — 学生行为 — 善意通知豁免 — 处罚
RCW 28A.600.460 课堂纪律--政策--学生违规者的课堂安置-纪律处分数据
RCW 28A.320; 2020 c 167 § 1 通知条款
RCW 72.09.345 性犯罪者 — 发布信息以保护公众 — 刑期审查委员会 — 评估 — 记录访问 — 审查、分类、转介犯罪者 — 发布叙述性通知
WAC 392-400 学生纪律 20 USC 1232g; 34 CFR Part 99 家庭教育权利和隐私法第 IX 条,第 1 节,华盛顿州宪法

管理资源:
PNA 97.08.03 立法机关解决学生纪律问题
PNA 99.06.03 学校安全法案影响政策

采用:16 年 2002 月 XNUMX 日
修订日期:17 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日

瓦拉瓦拉公立学校 • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • 电话: 509-527-3000 • 传真: 509.529.7713

SS-标志-警报-透明 安全学校提示行: 855.976.8772  |  在线提示报告系统

1x1trans
Translate Información en Español:
A+ A A-

Search Policies & Procedures

3143 - Notification and Dissemination of Information about Student Offenses and Notification of Threats of Violence or Harm

BOARD POLICY No. 3143 (P)

NOTIFICATION AND DISSEMINATION OF INFORMATION ABOUT STUDENT OFFENSES AND NOTIFICATION OF THREATS OF VIOLENCE OR HARM

The Walla Walla School District is committed to providing a safe and secure environment for all its students and staff. All students, including those who have committed or been adjudicated for offenses, have constitutional rights to public education.

A. Notification of Student Offenses from County Sheriff’s Office, Courts, Department of Social and Health Services, Department of Corrections, and Other School Districts.

The district receives notices and information about student offenders from several statutorily authorized sources, including the county sheriff’s office, the courts, the department of social and health services, the department of corrections, and other school districts where the student previously enrolled. The district will take appropriate precautionary measures when it receives notices and information of student offenses from any of these sources. Student discipline, if any, will be consistent with 3241 – Student Discipline.

The superintendent, or his or her designee, and school principals play an important role in determining and implementing appropriate precautionary measures relating to notices and information about student offenses. If the superintendent, a designee of the superintendent, or a principal of a school receives student offense information under RCW 28A.225.330 (notifications from other school districts), 9A.44.138 (sheriff notifications to school districts), 13.04.155 (court notifications to school districts), 13.40.215 (department of children, youth, and families notifications to school districts), or 72.09.730 (department of corrections notifications to school districts), the following notification provisions will be followed.

1. Sex Offenses and Registered Sex or Kidnapping Offenders.

a. Superintendent or Designee. Upon receipt of information about sex offenses as defined in RCW 9.94A.030 or upon receipt of information about registered sex or kidnapping offenders pursuant to RCW 9A.44.138, the superintendent or his or her designee will provide the information to the principal of the school where the student is enrolled or will enroll—or, if not known, where the student was most recently enrolled.

b. Principals. When the principal receives the information described above, he or she must then disclose the information as follows.

If the student is classified as a risk level II or III, the principal shall provide the information received to every teacher of the student and to any other personnel who, in the judgment of the principal, supervises the student or for security purposes should be aware of the student’s record.

If the student is classified as a risk level I, the principal shall provide the information received only to personnel who, in the judgment of the principal, for security purposes should be aware of the student’s record.

c. Convicted Juvenile Sex Offenders Attendance at Victims School. Convicted juvenile sex offenders are prohibited from attending the elementary, middle, or high school attended by their victims or their victims’ siblings. The parents or legal guardians of the convicted juvenile sex offender shall be responsible for providing transportation or covering other costs associated with or required by the sex offender’s change in school.

The Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Sex Offender School Attendance Program assists with ensuring that juvenile sex offenders, committed to Juvenile Rehabilitation Administration (JRA), do not enroll in the same school as their victim or their victims’ siblings. If there is a conflict in schools, DSHS program staff will work with JRA to have the offender moved to another school.

d. Collaboration. The principal or designee will consult and collaborate with department of corrections, juvenile justice staff, treatment providers, victim support groups, and families, as applicable, when working with students required to register as a sex or kidnapping offender.

e. Inquiries by the Public. Law enforcement agencies receive relevant information about the release of sex and kidnapping offenders into communities and decide when such information needs to be released to the public. Therefore, district and school staff will refer all inquiries by the public at large (including parents and students) regarding students required to register as a sex or kidnapping offender directly to law enforcement.

2. Violent Offenses, Firearms and Dangerous Weapons Crimes, Unlawful Possession or Delivery of Controlled Substances, or School Disciplinary Actions.

a. Superintendent or Designee. Upon receipt of information about a violent offense as defined in RCW 9.94A.030, any crime under chapter 9.41 RCW, unlawful possession or delivery, or both, of a controlled substance in violation of chapter 69.50 RCW, or a school disciplinary action, the superintendent or designee will provide the information to the principal of the school where the student is enrolled or will enroll—or, if not known, where the student was most recently enrolled.

b. Principals. When the principal, receives the information described above, he or she, has discretion to share the information with a district staff member if, in the principal’s judgment, the information is necessary for:
• The staff member to supervise the student;
• The staff member to provide or refer the student to therapeutic or behavioral health services; or
• Security purposes.

School principals and staff should use care not to allow a student’s demographic or personal characteristics to bias the decision of whether to share information received.

Upon receipt of information about an adjudication in juvenile court for an unlawful possession of a controlled substance in violation of chapter 69.50 RCW, the principal must notify the student and the parent or legal guardian at least five days before sharing the information with a district staff member.

If either the student or the student's parent or legal guardian objects to the proposed sharing of the information, the student, the student's parent or legal guardian, or both, may, within five business days of receiving notice from the principal, appeal the decision to share the information with staff to the superintendent of the district in accordance with procedures developed by the district.

The superintendent shall have five business days after receiving an appeal under the above to make a written determination on the matter. Determinations by the superintendent under this subsection are final and not subject to further appeal.

A principal may not share adjudication information under this subsection with a district staff member while an appeal is pending.

3. Public Records Act.

Any information received by district staff under this section is exempt from disclosure under the public records act (chapter 42.56 RCW) and may not be further disseminated except as provided in RCW 28A.225.330, other statutes or case law, and the family and educational and privacy rights act of 1994 (20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232g et seq.).

4. Assignment of Student Offenders to Certain Classrooms.

A student committing an offense under chapter 9A.36 (assault), 9A.40 (kidnapping, unlawful imprisonment, custodial interference, luring, trafficking, and coercion of involuntary servitude), 9A.46 (harassment), or 9A.48 RCW (arson, reckless burning, and malicious mischief) when the activity is directed toward the teacher, shall not be assigned to that teacher’s classroom for the duration of the student’s attendance at that school or any other school where the teacher is assigned.

A student who commits an offense under chapter 9A.36 (assault), 9A.40 (kidnapping, unlawful imprisonment, custodial interference, luring, trafficking, and coercion of involuntary servitude), 9A.46 (harassment), or 9A.48 RCW (arson, reckless burning, and malicious mischief), when directed toward another student, may be removed from the classroom of the victim for the duration of the student's attendance at that school or any other school where the victim is enrolled.


B. Notification of Threats of Violence or Harm.

Students and school employees who are subjects of threats of violence or harm will be notified of the threats in a timely manner. “Threats of violence or harm” means direct or indirect communications by any means of the intent to inflict physical harm upon a specific individual or individuals or that place a person in fear of the imminent likelihood of serious harm.

The district will assess and address potential threats of violence or harm in a manner consistent with Policy and Procedure 3225 – School-Based Threat Assessment, other safety policies, and comprehensive safe school plans. In instances where the threat is deemed moderate risk or high risk, or requires further intervention to prevent violence or serious harm, the school administrator shall notify the parent and/or guardian of any student who is the target/recipient of a threat as well as the parent and/or guardian of any student who made the threat. The district will ensure that the notice is in a language the parent and/or guardian understands, which may require language assistance for parents or guardians with limited-English proficiency under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

If there is a specific and significant threat to the health or safety of a student or other individuals, the district may disclose information from education records to appropriate parties whose knowledge of the information is necessary. Timing and details of the notice will be as extensive as permitted by the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, other legal limitations, and the circumstances.

The district may use information about a threat of harm or violence in connection with student discipline consistent with Policy and Procedure 3241 – Student Discipline.

The district, board, school officials, and school employees providing notice in good faith as required and consistent with the board’s policies are immune from any liability arising out of such notification. A person who intentionally and in bad faith or maliciously, knowingly makes a false notification of a threat under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable under RCW 9A.20.021.

C. Immunity.

Any school district or district employee who releases the information in compliance with federal and state law is immune from civil liability for damages unless it is shown that the school district or district employee acted with gross negligence or in bad faith.

 

Cross References:
Board Policy 2161 Special Education and Related Services for Eligible Students
Board Policy 2162 Education of Students with Disabilities Under Section 504 of Rehabilitation Act 1973
Board Policy 3120 Enrollment
Board Policy 3140 Release of Resident Students
Board Policy 3207 Prohibition of Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying
Board Policy 3225 School-Based Threat Assessment
Board Policy 3231 Student Records
Board Policy 3241 Student Discipline
Board Policy 4020 Confidential Communications
Board Policy 5281 Disciplinary Action and Discharge

Legal References:
RCW 13.04.155 Notification to school principal of conviction, adjudication, or diversion agreement--provision of information to teachers and other personnel—Confidentiality
RCW 4.24.550 Sex offenders and kidnapping offenders — Release of information to public — Web site
RCW 9A.44.130 Registration of sex offenders and kidnapping offenders — Procedures — Definition — Penalties
RCW 13.04.155 Notification to school principal of conviction, adjudication, or diversion agreement — Provision of information to teachers and other personnel — Confidentiality
RCW 13.40.215 Juveniles found to have committed violent or sex offense or stalking--Notification of discharge, parole, leave release, transfer, or escape--To whom given—Definitions
RCW 28A.225.330 Enrolling students from other districts — Requests for information and permanent records — Withheld transcripts — Immunity from liability — Notification to teachers and security personnel — Rules
RCW 28A.320.128 Notice and disclosure policies — Threats of violence — Student conduct — Immunity for good faith notice — Penalty
RCW 28A.600.460 Classroom discipline--policies--classroom placement of student offenders-data on disciplinary actions
RCW 28A.320; 2020 c 167 § 1 Notification provisions
RCW 72.09.345 Sex offenders — Release of information to protect public — End-of-sentence review committee — Assessment — Records access — Review, classification, referral of offenders — Issuance of narrative notices
WAC 392-400 Student Discipline 20 U.S.C. 1232g; 34 C.F.R. Part 99 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act Article IX, Section 1, Washington State Constitution

Management Resources:
PNA 97.08.03 Legislature addresses student discipline
PNA 99.06.03 School safety bills impact policy

Adopted: July 16, 2002
Revised: November 17, 2020

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772  |  Online Tip Reporting System