A+ A A-

Winter Sports All Conference Honors

Blue Devils Winter Sports Wrap up by Athletic Director Chris Ferenz

The Walla Walla High School Athletic Department would like to begin by thanking many individuals across the community for a successful and enjoyable winter sports season here at Walla Walla High School. The attendance and enthusiasm at home contests this winter was inspiring for our student-athletes and coaches as they stepped on to the court, mat, and in the pool. In addition, a special expression of gratitude to the many individuals who stepped in to provide the necessary game worker support to run our athletic events smoothly.

Our student body and ASB leadership showed up in large numbers and expressed their Blue Devil spirit in a respectful and enthusiastic manner. Congratulations to our student-athletes and coaches for their successes.

The boys basketball team ended their season with a second-round state loss at Arlington High School. Making a second 600+ mile round-trip over Snoqualmie Pass in 5 days, the Blue Devils dropped a game to the Eagles by a score of 68-57 on Saturday, February 25th. The loss capped a run of four loser-out contests which saw the hoopsters fend off Ferris at home, Kennewick in the TriCities, and Mount Vernon at Mount Vernon. The spirit and resolve of the team was on display as the team and coaches laced up their sneakers and played aggressive, confident team basketball.

In addition to many programs having team success, a number of individual student-athletes and coaches received recognition by the Mid-Columbia Conference coaches for outstanding performances throughout the season. Congratulations to the following MCC All-Conference Award winners.

• Zachary Evans (Sr) - Second Team
• Emmett James (Sr) - Honorable Mention
• Jamie Coburn - Coach of the Year

• Hayes Hendley (Fr), Noah Stillman (Fr), Kai Lincoln (Jr), Zach Juhnke (Sr) - 2nd Team, 200 Freestyle Relay
• Zach Juhnke (Sr) - 100 Freestyle
• Eli Bona (Fr) - 500 Freestyle
• Noah Stillman (Fr), Jerry Yao (So), Eli Bona (Fr), Zach Juhnke (Sr) - Honorable Mention, 200 Medley Relay
• Jerroy Yao (So), Noah Stillman (Fr), Eli Bona (Fr), Zach Juhnke (Sr) - Honorable Mention, 400 Freestyle Relay
• Nancy Rose - Coach of the Year

Girls Wrestling:
• Kylie Whitaker (Fr) - First Team
• Emilie Lawrence (Sr) - Second Team
• Aexa Kemp (So) - Honorable Mention

Boys Wrestling:
• Mateo Caso (Sr) - First Team, Upper Weight Wrestler of the Year
• Carter O-Dell (Jr) – Second Team
• Ethan Kregger (Jr) - Second Team

Girls Bowling:
• Morgan Perrion (Jr) - Second Team

Girls Basketball:
• Cami Martin (Jr) - Second Team
• Madison Riebel (Jr) - Honorable Mention, Defensive Team

Boys Basketball:
• Dane Gardea (Jr) - Second Team

 PHOTO: State Champion wrestler Mateo Caso. 


WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

Vector Solutions - Vector Alert Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772  |  Online Tip Reporting System