1x1trans
Translate:
A+ A A-

GEAR UP

GEAR UP:
Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs.

GEAR UP is a federal funded Department of Education grant that works with local middle schools and high schools to help students, staff and families receive information on how to plan for their life after graduation.

Currently Walla Walla Public Schools partners with GEAR UP at 3 Walla Walla area schools:

Pioneer Middle School

www.pioneer49ers.org

Services offered:

Academic Lab – Stop by Pioneer’s Library to work on your homework, study or get help with projects you are working on. Access to Dell Chromebooks for schoolwork are provided with GEAR UP funds.
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday – 3:00-4:00
Wednesday – 2:05-3:00

GEAR UP Edge – 8th Grade students can sign up for the GEAR UP Edge program for math help. Afterschool sessions or individual tutoring is available. Contact Nancy Rose to schedule appointments. Currently available Monday – Thursday for one hour after school.

PIONEER CONTACTS:

GEAR UP Site Manager
Gretchen Hormel
ghormel@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509.527.1970

GEAR UP Math/Academic Specialist
Nancy Rose
nrose@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu 

Garrison Middle School

www.garrisonmiddleschool.org

Services offered:

GM Success is a program designed for homework assistance and tutoring.
Monday, Tuesday and Thursday – 3:05-4:00
Wednesday – 2:05-3:30

After school tutoring is also available for 8th graders by appointment; contact Susan Greene or Christopher White for more information.

GARRISON CONTACTS:

GEAR UP Site Manager
Susan Greene
sgreene@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-1914 

GEAR UP Math/Academic Specialist
Christopher White
cwhite@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-1905 

Walla Walla High School

See wahibluedevils.org/collegeandcareer.org for program listings.

WA-HI CONTACTS:

GEAR UP Site Manager
Rachel Hicks
rhicks@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-8621

GEAR UP Student Achievement Specialist
Sue Weber
sweber@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-8640

GEAR UP Program Coordinator
Becky Waggoner-Schwartz
bwaggoner@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-8621

GEAR UP Student Outreach Coordinator
Sergio Orozco
sorozco@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
509-526-8640

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772