معلومات24-25 تطبيق مزدوج   يُغلق النظر المبكر في 15 مارس 2024 | اقرأ المزيد

A+ A A-

برنامج من المزرعة إلى المدرسة

ما هي لعبة Farm to School (F2S)؟

بام الفلفلمن المزرعة إلى المدرسة حركة وطنية لإثراء الأجساد والعقول مع دعم الاقتصاد المحلي. إنه برنامج يقوم بمصادر الأطعمة المدرسية محليًا ، مع توفير أنشطة تعليمية مجانية تركز على الطعام والزراعة والتغذية. يشمل المصطلح الجهود التي تجلب الأطعمة المنتجة محليًا وإقليميًا إلى كافيتيريات المدرسة والتدريب العملي على أنشطة التعلم مثل البستنة المدرسية وزيارات المزرعة وفصول الطهي. 
يمكن للعروض الإقليمية (وبالتالي الفرص الاقتصادية لمنتجي الأغذية المحليين) أن تمتد إلى صينية الوجبات المدرسية وتشمل كل شيء من الفاكهة الطازجة والخضروات إلى القمح في قشرة البيتزا والفاصوليا في الفلفل الحار والفلفل المقلي ولحم البقر في الهامبرغر والجبن في الكيساديلا. وهكذا ، تشمل المزرعة إلى المدرسة المزارعين ومربي الماشية والصيادين ، بالإضافة إلى مصنعي الأغذية والمصنعين والموزعين.

في الصورة على اليمين: بام ميليسون ، مديرة خدمات التغذية في WWPS ، مع الفلفل الحلو المستخدم في برنامج Farm to School.

تاريخ برنامج مدرسة Walla Walla من المزرعة إلى المدرسة

تم ذكر دعم برنامج "من المزرعة إلى الكافيتريا" لأول مرة في عام 2006 في إجراءات التغذية واللياقة في المنطقة، كبرنامج يعزز الوصول إلى الأطعمة الكاملة الطازجة مع دعم الزراعة المحلية. تشجع وثيقة المنطقة هذه أيضًا على إنشاء حدائق مدرسية لتزويد الطلاب بالخبرات في زراعة وحصاد وإعداد وتقديم وتذوق الأطعمة.

يجمع برنامج المزرعة إلى المدرسة الشامل بين هذين العنصرين الأساسيين: الترويج لشراء المنتجات المحلية والتثقيف حول المواد الغذائية.

تم إنشاء الحدائق المدرسية في العديد من مدارس المنطقة: Sharpstein Elementary and Garrison MS (2007) ، Prospect Point Elementary (2008) ، Green Park Elementary (2009) ، Edison Elementary (2011). تم إنشاء كل حديقة وتمويلها من خلال جهود تطوعية.  

في مايو 2012 ، تم التبرع بأموال لدعم F2S من قبل First Fruits Fund ، وهو صندوق مكون لمؤسسة Blue Mountain Community Foundation ولجنة Sharpstein PTA Garden. سمح هذا الدعم بكتابة منح إضافية وبدء برنامج F2S. مُنحت منحة وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية في نوفمبر 2012 لدعم برنامج F2S لمدة عامين. 

أهداف البرنامج الشاملة لمنحة وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية من المزرعة إلى المدرسة ، نوفمبر 2012 - نوفمبر 2014

  1. لإنشاء طريقة محلية مستدامة لشراء الغذاء ، وزيادة حجم الأموال التي يتم إنفاقها على الأطعمة المزروعة محليًا وإقليميًا. لتحقيق ذلك ، يتصدى برنامج F2S للتحديات التي تواجه خدمات التغذية في كل من شراء المنتجات المحلية واستخدامها. من خلال توسيع وتعزيز العلاقات مع المزارعين المحليين ، والتشاور مع المتخصصين لضمان عمليات الشراء المناسبة ودعم التطوير المهني لموظفي خدمات التغذية ، يجب أن تكون الأطعمة المحلية جزءًا مستمرًا من وجبات الغداء المدرسية في والا والا. لقد بدأنا مع برنامج حصاد الشهر ، الذي يسلط الضوء على منتج مزروع محليًا والمزرعة التي نمت فيها ، كل شهر. 
  2. لتوفير وصفات موحدة جديدة وتدريب مهني لموظفي خدمات التغذية. سيتم تحقيق ذلك بالتعاون مع معهد كوميونيتي كوليدج واين كنتري لفنون الطهي بالإضافة إلى طهاة متطوعين في المنطقة.
  3. تعزيز الروابط المدرسية إلى مزارع المنطقة. سيقوم جميع طلاب الصف الثالث بزيارة المزارع مرتين خلال الرحلات الميدانية المدرسية. سيتلقى المعلمون المهتمون الدعم في إنشاء رابط إنترنت بين حجرة الدراسة والمزرعة المحلية. سوف يقوم حدث جولة في المزرعة المحلية بالتنسيق مع دائرة الزراعة المائية في الزراعة بتعريف موظفي خدمات التغذية بالمزارع / المزارعين المحليين. سيشجع ربط المنتجات المحلية في الكافتيريا بالمزرعة التي نمت فيها من خلال الملصقات والبطاقات وزيارات المزارعين الطلاب على التفكير في خياراتهم الغذائية. - تحقق من برنامج حصاد الشهر.
  4. قم بتوسيع برنامج الحديقة المدرسية. سيتم دعم منسقي الحدائق لتوسيع منهج الحدائق الحالي حيث توجد حدائق بالفعل وسيتم تركيب حدائق جديدة في مدرستين ابتدائيتين. 
  5. تثقيف أولياء الأمور والطلاب وأفراد المجتمع حول الطبخ والزراعة المحلية. ستلهم دروس الطهي الآباء وتعلمهم بشأن طهي وجبات صحية بميزانية ذات مذاق رائع. 

على الرغم من وجود أموال لدعم تنسيق الأنشطة من المزرعة إلى المدرسة ، فإن العديد من الأنشطة ستعتمد على دعم المتطوعين.

يرجى مراجعة صفحة المتطوعين إذا كنت مهتمًا بالمشاركة!

المتطوعين

أعضاء لجنة الرقابة

بيث تيل ، منسقة من المزرعة إلى المدرسة ، والدة المنطقة
بام ميليسون ، مدير خدمات التغذية في WWPS
كارين جورجنسون ، مديرة المطبخ - مدرسة إديسون الابتدائية
داناي داربي ، مدرس - مدرسة شاربستين الابتدائية
لوسي جريجوار ، مدرس مدرسة جرين بارك الابتدائية
ليندسي بوتشر ، مدرس - مدرسة FFA والا والا الثانوية
إميلي أسموس ، مزارع - Welcome Table Farm
هولي هوارد ، المدير التنفيذي لمركز لينكولن الصحي لمدرسة ثانوية - الوالدين بالمنطقة
نيكي جريلر ، والد المنطقة - ممرضة ، طباخة
هايدي شابين ، والدة المنطقة - معلمة بيئية

مدارس ولاء العامة • 364 شارع ساوث بارك • والا والا 99362 • الهاتف: 509-527-3000 • الفاكس: 509.529.7713

حلول المتجهات - تنبيه المتجهات خط نصيحة المدارس الآمنة: 855.976.8772  |  نظام الإبلاغ عن الإكرامية عبر الإنترنت

A+ A A-

Farm to School Program

What is Farm to School (F2S)?

pam-peppersFarm to School is a nationwide movement to enrich bodies and minds while supporting the local economy. It’s a program that sources school foods locally, while providing complimentary education activities that emphasize food, farming and nutrition.  The term encompasses efforts that bring local and regionally produced foods into the school cafeterias and hands on learning activities like school gardening, farm visits and culinary classes. 
Regional offerings (and therefore economic opportunities for local food producers) can span the school meal tray and include everything from fresh fruit and vegetable servings to the wheat in the pizza crust, beans in the chili, peppers in the stir fry, beef in the hamburgers, and cheese in the quesadillas. Thus, farm to school includes farmers, ranchers, and fishermen, as well as food processors, manufacturers, and distributors.

Pictured at right: WWPS Nutrition Services Director Pam Milleson, with bell peppers used in the Farm to School program.

History of the Walla Walla School District Farm to School Program

Support for a “Farm to Cafeteria” program was first mentioned 2006 in the District’s Nutrition and Fitness Procedures, as a program that promotes access to fresh whole foods while supporting local agriculture.  This district document also encourages the establishment of school gardens to provide students with experiences in planting, harvesting, preparing, serving and tasting foods.

A comprehensive farm to school program combines these two basic elements: Promoting the purchase of local products and education about food.

School gardens have been established at several area schools: Sharpstein Elementary and Garrison MS (2007), Prospect Point Elementary (2008), Green Park Elementary (2009), and Edison Elementary (2011).  Each garden was constructed and financed through volunteer efforts.  

In May 2012, funds to support F2S were donated by First Fruits Fund, a component fund of Blue Mountain Community Foundation and Sharpstein PTA garden committee.  This support allowed additional grant writing and the initiation of the F2S program.  A USDA grant was awarded in November 2012 to support a 2 year F2S program. 

Overarching Program Goals of the USDA Farm to School Grant, November 2012 - November 2014

  1. To establish a sustainable local food purchasing method, increasing the amount of funds spent on locally and regionally grown foods. To accomplish this, the F2S program is addressing the challenges posed to nutrition services in both purchasing and utilizing local products.  By broadening and strengthening ties to local farmers, consulting with specialists to ensure proper procurement processes and supporting professional development of nutrition services staff, local foods should be a continued part of school lunches in Walla Walla.  We’ve started with a Harvest of the Month program, highlighting a locally grown product and the farm where it was grown, each month. 
  2. To provide new standardized recipes and professional training for nutritional services staff. This will be accomplished in cooperation with the Community College Wine Country Culinary Institute in addition to area volunteer chefs.
  3. Promote school connections to area farms. All third grade students will visit farms twice during school field trips.  Interested teachers will receive support in establishing an internet link between their classroom and a local farm.  A local farm tour event in coordination with WA Dept. of Agriculture will familiarize nutrition services staff with local farms/farmers.  Connecting local products in the cafeteria to the farm where it was grown through poster, cards and farmer visits will encourage students to consider their food choices. – Check out the Harvest of the Month Program.
  4. Expand the school garden program. Garden coordinators will be supported to expand the existing garden curriculum where gardens already exist and new gardens will be installed at two elementary schools. 
  5. Educate parents, students and community members about cooking and local agriculture. Cooking classes will inspire and inform parents about cooking healthy meals on a budget that taste great. 

Although there are funds to support the coordination of farm to school activities, many of the activities will rely on volunteer support.

Please check the volunteer page if you are interested in getting involved!

volunteers

Oversight Committee Members

Beth Thiel, Farm to School Coordinator, district parent
Pam Milleson, WWPS Nutrition Services Director
Karen Jorgenson, Kitchen Manager – Edison Elementary
Jeanna Quistberg, Kitchen Manager – Green Park Elementary
Matt Bona, Principal – Sharpstein Elementary
Danae Darby, Teacher – Sharpstein Elementary
Lucy Gregoire, Teacher-Green Park Elementary
Lindsey Butcher, Teacher – FFA Walla Walla High School
Emily Asmus, Farmer – Welcome Table Farm
Holly Howard, Executive Director Lincoln High School Health Center – district parent
Nikki Gryler, District Parent – Nurse, cook
Heidi Chapin, District Parent – Environmental Educator

WALLA WALLA PUBLIC SCHOOLS • 364 South Park St. • Walla Walla, WA 99362 • Phone: 509-527-3000 • Fax: 509.529.7713

SS-logo-alert-transparent Safe Schools Tip Line: 855.976.8772